North Coastal Consortium for Special Education Logo

​The North Coastal Consortium for Special Education (NCCSE) is made up of fourteen school districts in the north coastal area of San Diego County. The districts include: Bonsall Union, Cardiff, Carlsbad Unified, Del Mar Union, Encinitas Union, Fallbrook Union Elementary, Fallbrook Union High, Oceanside Unified, Rancho Santa Fe, San Dieguito Union High, San Marcos Unified, Solana Beach, Vallecitos and Vista Unified.

According to the Local Plan, this Special Education Local Planning Area's (SELPA's) governance structure includes a Cabinet Committee which is comprised of District Special Education Directors, the Board of Governors which are the district Superintendents and a Board of Trustees which is one board member representative from each School Board of Education. The NCCSE coordinates special education programs and special education student placements for over 12,000 students from birth through age 21. It is responsible for monitoring compliance with state and federal mandates, developing policy, procedures and guidelines and provides staff development activities.

A Community Advisory Committee (CAC) is an integral part of the SELPA. It is comprised of parents of individuals with disabilities enrolled in public or private schools, other parents, individuals with disabilities enrolled in special education programs, teachers, representatives of other agencies and others concerned with the needs of individuals with exceptional needs.

North Coastal Consortium for Special Education SELPA Website