Skip to main content

A Salute to Teachers

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​COX presents A Salute to Teachers logo - brought to you by San Diego County Credit Union ​

Recognizing San Diego County Teachers!  

For the past 28 years, SDCOE has recognized teachers from across the region for their commitment to teaching and learning. Every year, teachers representing all 42 county districts are invited to apply for San Diego County Teacher of the Year.

For teachers selected as the Teacher of the Year from their district, here is the 2020 San Diego County Teacher of the Year application process timeline (PDF). 

On Sept. 7, 2019, all 2020 San Diego County Teacher of the Year nominees will be honored at the 29th annual Cox Presents: A Salute to Teachers, sponsored by San Diego County Credit Union. The event, held at the Balboa Theater, highlights San Diego County's more than 22,000 public school teachers and features celebrity emcees and presenters, and musical and dance performances. Five of the honorees will be named 2019-20 San Diego County Teachers of the Year. These five individuals will go on to represent the region at the California Teacher of the Year program.

Buy Tickets Now!

General admission tickets for the event are now on sale. Tickets are $15.50 (that includes a $1.50 facility fee), and can be purchased online; by calling the Balboa Theatre at 570-1100 (all San Diego area codes); or at the Advance Sales Windows at Third Avenue and B Street from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. Monday through Friday. Additional fees will be applied to online and phone purchases. A 10% discount will be applied if you use/mention the code SDCCU. The 10% discount already applies to groups of 10 or more.

Click on the links below to see more Teacher of the Year information: