Skip To Main Content

Close Mobile Menu ( Don't delete it )

Mobile Utility

Header Top

Header Utility

Header Bottom

Mobile Trigger


ASB Presidents Honored at Annual Luncheon

ASB Presidents Honored at Annual Luncheon
The 2022 ABS presidents being honored at Laurels for Leaders

Nearly 100 high school seniors were honored Feb. 23 at the 65th annual Washington-Lincoln Laurels for Leaders luncheon for their work to boost morale and engagement at their schools.

The luncheon, held at San Diego State University, was an opportunity for associated student body (ASB) presidents from schools throughout the county to network with each other as well as community and business leaders.

“Laurels for Leaders was a special experience, and it was nice to be recognized for the work I do,” said Mattie Wilson, ASB president at Clairemont High School. “The workshops were beneficial, and I enjoyed collaborating and exchanging ideas with fellow ASB presidents."

Each student at the event received a check for $300 and recognition certificate from Washington-Lincoln Laurels for Leaders, a local nonprofit started in 1957 to honor and recognize the achievements of ASB presidents.

"This event opened my eyes to so many methods of leadership in our San Diego community," said Cameron La Marca, ASB president at Academy of Our Lady of Peace. "San Diego high schools are so blessed to have such strong leaders guiding the student bodies."

Participants heard an inspiring speech from Michael Brunker, a renowned leader in business, nonprofit, and youth development.

"I enjoyed this event so much because i was surrounded by people who made me want to work harder for my school," said Emily Schmierer, ASB president at Fallbrook High School.

The annual event also includes workshops on leadership development and financial education as well as a celebration luncheon featuring these young leaders surrounded by their parents, educators, and community leaders.

“It was an honor to be in the room with some of our county's exceptional student leaders,” said Jeremy Hersch, Laurels for Leader board president, teacher, and ASB advisor. “It was an incredible day to reconnect and recognize their accomplishments.”

View photos from the event on the Laurels for Leaders Facebook page.

This year's honorees are:

  • Cameron La Marca, Academy of Our Lady of Peace
  • Sean Lu, Army and Navy Academy
  • Jasmine Huerta, Bonita Vista High School
  • Milana Collier, Bonsall High
  • Amanda Chen, Canyon Crest Academy
  • Karissa Andrade, Canyon Hills High School (formerly Serra High)
  • Olivia Lewis, Carlsbad High School
  • Angelica Villarreal, Castle Park High School
  • Emily Abts, Cathedral Catholic High School
  • Ashley Farfan, Chula Vista High School
  • Mattie Wilson, Clairemont High School
  • Declan Dineen, Coronado High School
  • Jada Toeuk, Crawford High School
  • Jesse Mendez, Crawford High School
  • Devyn Bolger, Del Lago Academy
  • Lucia Cavallini, East Village Middle College High
  • Bethany Kim, Eastlake High School
  • Marlid Medina, El Cajon Valley High School
  • Faith Langteau, El Capitan High School
  • Isabella Moreno, Escondido Charter High School
  • Austin Todd, Escondido High School
  • Emily Schmierer, Fallbrook High School
  • Lucas Bernicker, Francis W. Parker
  • Liam Villegas, Garfield High School
  • Emmery Pot, Gompers Preparatory Academy
  • Danita Nagara, Granite Hills High School
  • Laila Aleman, Grossmont High School
  • Owen Dahlkamp, Helix Charter High School
  • Savannah Mcdade, Henry High School
  • Victoria Daniels, Hilltop High School
  • Yareli Arribeno, Hoover High School
  • Devin Green, IDEA Center
  • Anna Zeldin, iHigh Virtual Academy
  • Jessica Bakken, Julian High School
  • Kara Templin, Kearny High School
  • Charlotte Gayner, La Jolla High School
  • Alexa Schroeder, Liberty Charter High School
  • T’Ari Jones, Lincoln High School
  • Hadassa Bahena, Madison High School
  • Melissa Marentes, Mar Vista High School
  • Melissa Esparza, Mater Dei Catholic School
  • Sophia Maristela, Mira Mesa High School
  • Angelina Rosete, Mission Bay High School
  • Isabella Counts, Mission Hills High School
  • Malea Van Brocklin, Mission Vista High School
  • Michael Guerrero Beltran, Monte Vista High School
  • Rian Fernandez. Montgomery High School
  • Trinity Watkins, Morse High School
  • Maria Sanchez, Mount Miguel High School
  • Mia Estrada, Mountain Empire High School
  • Charlie Hicok, Mt. Carmel High School
  • Matthew Steel, Mt. Everest Academy
  • Jessica Rubio, Olympian High School
  • Cassidy Miller, Orange Glen High School
  • Melaniegrace McInnis, Otay Ranch High School
  • Michelle Perez, Palomar High School
  • Ella Sykes, Point Loma High School
  • Sophia Chittle, Poway High School
  • Joanna Mateo, Preuss School, UCSD
  • Ryan Kaufman, Ramona High School
  • Maddie Engblom, Rancho Bernardo High School
  • Shyla Buckhouse, Rancho Buena Vista High
  • Brooke DeGraan, Sage Creek High School
  • Ralph Tyrell III, San Diego Academy
  • Aries Cole, San Diego High School
  • Vanessa Castro, San Diego MET
  • Ethan Fitzgerald, San Dieguito Academy
  • Kellen Bynes, San Marcos High School
  • Remy Corbin, San Marcos High School
  • Trinity Rivera, San Pasqual High School
  • Vince Alihan, San Ysidro High School
  • Ella Alford, Santa Fe Christian Upper School
  • Riley Rogers, Santana High School
  • Tyler Remillo, School of Creative and Performing Arts
  • Julianne Sue, Scripps Ranch High School
  • Metztli Carbajal, Southwest High School
  • Lucas Wurst, St. Augustine High School
  • Yasmine Duenas, Steele Canyon High School
  • Sebastian Pineda, Sweetwater High School
  • Hunter Kates, The Bishop's School
  • Ashley Cote, Tri-City Christian Schools
  • Mattie Budd, Twain High School
  • Rachael Schneider, University City High School
  • Domunik Shamoun, Valhalla High School
  • Jan Vargas, Victory Christian Academy
  • Aidan Fogel, Vista High School
  • Gavin Williams, West Hills High School

triangle SDCOE emblem

More to explore

Date Range
Appears to be female student sitting in the shade reading a book

As consistently hot conditions continue this summer across San Diego County, it's important to plan ahead and take precautions. Here are some tips and resources to help beat the heat.

Image of student Elliot at the dais

The Juvenile Court and Community Schools student representative on the San Diego County Board of Education for June was Elliot, a senior at Monarch School.

Two female students posing in their cap and gowns at graduation

Graduation ceremonies across our Juvenile Court and Community Schools (JCCS) were spirited, supportive, and full of cheers, whistles, and encouragement, for the more than 50 students who graduated from one of the San Diego County Office of Education’s JCCS campuses in June. 

SDCOE Student Wellness Team photo

SDCOE recently received the Outstanding Service Award from the San Diego County Suicide Prevention Council (SPC) for the work of the Student Wellness and School Culture department related to mental health and suicide prevention resources.