Skip To Main Content

Close Mobile Menu ( Don't delete it )

Mobile Utility

Header Top

Header Bottom

Mobile Trigger

Breadcrumb

Civil Discourse in the History-Social Science Classroom Day 1
-
San Diego County Office of Education - 6401 Linda Vista Road (92111)

In today's educational climate, many history-social science and ethnic studies teachers are looking to collaborate with others to identify and share best practices for teaching with and for civil discourse. This two-part workshop is intended for secondary teachers who would like to:

● think deeply about the role of discussion in education and in democracy;

● synthesize current theory and scholarship on civic dialogue; and

● share/obtain practical tools and strategies.

Day 1(No fee): Participants will hear from Dr. Judith Pace, author of Hard Questions: Learning to Teach Controversial Issues.

Day 2 (For teams of 2 or more $50 per person) (Individual registration $60): Participants will learn about and discuss strategies for improving student engagement, improving academic outcomes, and minimizing conflict when discussing current events and contested histories.

Register: https://sdcoe.k12oms.org/1014-238763



triangle SDCOE emblem

Find more events

June 2024
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
Sun, May 26
Mon, May 27
Tue, May 28
Wed, May 29
Thu, May 30
Fri, May 31
Sat, Jun 1
Sun, Jun 2
Mon, Jun 3
Tue, Jun 4
Wed, Jun 5
Thu, Jun 6
Fri, Jun 7
Sat, Jun 8
Sun, Jun 9
Mon, Jun 10
Tue, Jun 11
Wed, Jun 12
Thu, Jun 13
Fri, Jun 14
Sat, Jun 15
Sun, Jun 16
Mon, Jun 17
Tue, Jun 18
Wed, Jun 19
Thu, Jun 20
Fri, Jun 21
Sat, Jun 22
Sun, Jun 23
Mon, Jun 24
Tue, Jun 25
Wed, Jun 26
Thu, Jun 27
Fri, Jun 28
Sat, Jun 29
Sun, Jun 30
Mon, Jul 1
Tue, Jul 2
Wed, Jul 3
Thu, Jul 4
Fri, Jul 5
Sat, Jul 6