Skip to main content

 Chargers Award $420,000 in Scholarships, School PhysEd Grants at Hotel Del

The San Diego Chargers have awarded more than $420,000 to students and schools as part of the team's 2006 Chargers Champions program.

"Our young people are our future," said Chargers President Dean Spanos. "Any time that we have the opportunity to help them succeed, our entire community benefits. Our desire is to see minds, bodies and futures benefit from the Chargers Champions program."

In an outdoor reception for all the Chargers Champions recipients at the luxurious Hotel Del Coronado, each of 16 local high school students received a $7,000 college scholarship and a Sony laptop computer. The students, all 11th graders, were selected on the basis of their written applications and interviews, with service and leadership the primary criteria.

The new awards brought the Chargers' contributions to more than $2.5 million in the seven-year-old program. Staff from the San Diego County Office of Education helped the Chargers design the program, and have helped with student and school selections each year.

For a complete list of Chargers Champions scholarship recipients and award-winning schools, see below.

The 11 school awards will benefit physical education and nutrition programs, and ranged in size from $1,000 to $80,000. They were awarded to six elementary schools, three middle schools and two high schools.

Scripps Ranch High in San Diego City Schools received the largest award, $80,000, which will be combined with funds received from the school district and the school's foundation to replace their badly worn athletic field with an all-weather, state-of-the-art synthetic field.

The reception was attended by students, parents, teachers and administrators, as well as the Chargers Champions Executive Committee, which helped make the selections. The reception sponsored by Wells Fargo Bank.

"It's a joy to be a part of this tradition and proudly partner with the Chargers to support our kids," said Wells Fargo Senior Vice President Chuck Lemoine. "We're honored to have our hand in such a special event that benefits so many young people."

Chargers Champions Student Scholarship Class of 2006
Fausto Bustos, St. Augustine High School
Natalie Camou, West Hills High School
Rebecca Cheesman, Orange Glen High School
Kane Diep, The Preuss School
Iris Do, The Preuss School
Alex Fialho, Serra High School
Amy Hansen, Fallbrook High
Yvette Huston, Mt. Miguel High School
Nicholas Lafe, St. Augustine High School
Amanda Martinez, San Diego Educational Complex
Alma Melendez, Hilltop High School
Tony Nguyen, The Preuss School
Mario Planta, Chula Vista High School
Lena Salter, Kearny Educational Complex
Kassidi Seymour, Point Loma High School
Taylor Yi, Westview High School

Chargers Champions School Grant Recipients for 2006
Mar Vista High School, Sweetwater Union High School District, $51,000
Scripps Ranch High School, San Diego City Schools, $80,000
Horace Mann Middle School, San Diego City Schools, $30,000
La Presa Middle School, La Mesa-Spring Valley School District, $40,000
National City Middle School, Sweetwater Union High School District, $40,000
Hage Elementary School, San Diego City Schools, $20,000
Mt. Vernon Elementary School, Lemon Grove School District, $30,000
Paradise Hills Elementary School, San Diego City Schools, $15,000
Ada Harris Elementary School, Cardiff School District, $2,400
Carrillo Elementary School, San Marcos Unified School District, $1,000
Richland Elementary School, San Marcos Unified School District, $1,000