Skip to main content

 “24 Challenge” Math Tourney Stimulates Minds of Local Students

​More than 250 students participated in the 2007 San Diego County 24 Game Challenge, with parents, teachers and community members all in attendance.

Forty participating schools from 13 San Diego County districts took part in the competition, held at the Marina Village Conference Center, as spectators were kept in suspense throughout the final rounds.

"It's a wonderful event to be a part of, and a privilege to work with such a great and dedicated group of educators, parents and students," said Steve Hensel, Program Assistant of After School Programs with the County Office of Education's Safe Schools Unit.

 "The overwhelming response and support for the tournament shows how important it is for so many of our county schools," Hensel added. "I can't tell you how many times I heard a teacher say, 'My students have been looking forward to this all year.'"

The top three winners of the competition were Varun Krishnan a 4th grade student at Hawthorne Elementary in San Diego Unified School District; Trevor La Plante, a 5th grader at Tip Academy a charter school in Encinitas and Daniel Lu, a 6th grade student at Solana Pacific School in the Solana Beach School District.

The tournament showcased students from grades 4th through 6th from throughout San Diego County.

The 24 Game Challenge tournament requires students to combine four given numbers to reach a total of 24. A combination of mathematical skills is used to reach the target number, and teachers have praised the programs impact on students' computational skills. Tournaments involve parents, families, and entire communities, with the goal to raise mathematics achievement among students.

Sponsors of the 24 Challenge are the San Diego County Office of Education, the Greater San Diego Mathematics Council and Suntex International Inc.

Participating districts included: Alpine Union, Cajon Valley Union, Chula Vista Elementary, Del Mar Union, Encinitas Union, La Mesa-Spring Valley, Lakeside, Poway Unified, San Marcos Unified, San Diego City Unified, Solana Beach, Valley Center Unified, Vista Unified.