Skip to main content

 Cox Salute to Teachers Wins Emmy for Special Events Coverage

​Cox Presents A Salute to Teachers, the black tie Academy Awards-style San Diego County Teacher of the Year Awards show, has been honored with an Emmy Award for last fall’s production at Civic Theatre.

“It’s nice to know that our efforts to honor the teaching profession have been recognized,” said San Diego County Superintendent of Schools Randy Ward. “ The ‘Salute to Teachers’ is a fitting tribute to the phenomenal work of our San Diego County teaching profession, and we’re very fortunate to have a partner like Cox Communications, and Ch. 4 San Diego, to make the ‘Salute possible.”

The Emmy, awarded by the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences Southwest Chapter, was in the Live Special Events category. The show on October 6, 2007 was co-hosted by CNN news anchor Kyra Phillips and Ch. 4 Station Manager Dennis Morgigno, and was the 17th installment (and 12th Emmy) for the televised awards program.

The show culminated with the announcement of San Diego County’s five 2008 Teachers of the Year: Vicki Pilling of the Solana Beach School District; Chris Stanley of the Santee School District; Freddie Chavarria of the Oceanside Unified School District; Andee Aceves of the Lemon Grove School District; and Tammy Reina of the County Office of Education’s Juvenile Court and Community Schools.

Reina and Aceves were subsequently named California Teachers of the Year, accounting for two of the five state honorees.

Key sponsors of the 2007 production were Sycuan, SDG&E, the Fish Market Restaurants, National University, National Geographic Network, and Sony.

This year’s production of Cox Presents A Salute to Teachers will be held September 20 at the historic (but considerably smaller) Balboa Theater.