Skip to main content

 Southwest High Goes for Unprecedented 6th Straight Title at 26th Annual Academic Decathlon

​The 26th Annual San Diego County Academic Decathlon is scheduled for February 2 at Sweetwater High in National City, with Southwest High seeking its record-breaking sixth consecutive championship.

The Decathlon Awards Ceremony, when Southwest and all the other competing schools will learn the results, is scheduled for February 12 at the Peace & Justice Theatre, University of San Diego.

The 2008 Decathlon will test and reward academic strengths of 17 participating high schools. Both team and individual awards are given, in ten events: six written tests in music, art, language and literature, mathematics, economics, and social science; and three communications tests---an interview, an essay, and prepared and impromptu speeches.

The final Decathlon event is the Super Quiz, a College-Bowl-type competition in which students compete as teams, all in the same room.

The 17 competing high schools are: Academy of Our Lady of Peace, Army and Navy Academy, Bonita Vista, Chula Vista, Eastlake, Fallbrook, Hilltop, Mar Vista, Mission Hills, Otay Ranch, Saint Augustine, San Marcos, San Pasqual, San Ysidro, Scripps Ranch, Southwest and Sweetwater.

The Decathlon enables academically oriented students to enjoy the same sense of competition as athletes. Students are coached by high school teachers who devote many hours in helping students prepare for the competition.

Southwest High School of the Sweetwater Union High School District has dominated the Decathlon for five consecutive years. Meg Garcia, Sweetwater High School Decathlon coach says that her students are the hardest working, most competitive group she has ever encountered.

“The Decathlon is a very special event for me because my mother used to be a coach more then 20-years ago, and she was the first South Bay coach to ever win a Decathlon.” Garcia, an Art History teacher at Sweetwater High, added, “In this time of living by test scores, to me the Decathlon exemplifies real student learning.”

The sponsors of the competition are Einstein Brothers Bagels, Phil Cochran and Sysco Foods of San Diego, Mission Federal Credit Union Community Foundation, and the Coca-Cola Bottling Co. of San Diego.

For more information visit

Last years top ten were:

  1. Southwest High, Sweetwater Union High School District
  2. Eastlake High, Sweetwater UHSD
  3. Fallbrook, Fallbrook Union HSD
  4. Our Lady of Peace, parochial
  5. Saint Augustine, parochial
  6. Hilltop, Sweetwater UHSD
  7. Sweetwater, Sweetwater UHSD
  8. Mission Hills, San Marcos Unified School District
  9. Mar Vista, Sweetwater UHSD
  10. San Ysidro, Sweetwater UHSD