Skip to main content

 25 High School Athletic Coaches Honored as 2008-09 CIF San Diego Section Coaches of the Year

​Twenty-five San Diego County high school athletic coaches, with a combined 575 years of coaching service to students, have been named CIF San Diego Section 2008-09 Coaches of the Year by their fellow coaches.

“These are remarkable men and women,” said CIF San Diego Section Commissioner Dennis Ackerman. “They represent the finest attributes of all coaches. They’re all teachers. They’re all committed to fairness and sportsmanship. And they’re all committed to helping young people develop as students and as athletes.”

The announcement of the new Coaches of the Year was made at the CIF San Diego Section Board of Managers meeting. The meeting was also the focus of protests from parents who feel the San Diego Section has inconsistently enforced its policies and procedures.

In response to those charges, the Board of Managers voted unanimously to hire an investigator to look into the CIF’s transfer and eligibility policies and procedures, to ensure “fairness, consistency and transparency.”

Specifically, the Board directed San Diego Section Chair Larry Perondi, Superintendent of the Oceanside Unified School District, to establish an ad hoc committee to hire an investigator for the work. There was no timeline set for Perondi, but CIF administrators said the committee’s work will be a priority.

Among the Coach of the Year honorees were several individuals whose accomplishments include state and national recognition. One coach, Vista High water polo coach, Dave Spence, was honored for leading both the boys and girls programs.

Patrick Henry High girls soccer coach Howard Hawver was among the honorees. Hawver was recently diagnosed with ALS and is now wheelchair-bound. He was accompanied at the awards ceremony by Patrick Henry High Principal Pat Crowder, and fellow honoree Andrew Myette, who earned Coach of the Year honors for his work with the boys cross country team at Henry.

The entire class of 2008-09 CIF San Diego Section Coaches of the Year:
Cross Country: Boys, Myette, Patrick Henry; Girls, Brent Thorne, Torrey Pines
Golf: Boys, Steve Armstrong, La Costa Canyon; Girls, Karen Brannon, Poway
Field Hockey: Kaci Bronson, Rancho Buena Vista
Football: Sean Doyle, Cathedral Catholic
Tennis: Girls, Don Ackerly, Valhalla; Boys, Mike Parrinello, Rancho Bernardo
Volleyball: Girls, Pat McDougall, La Costa Canyon; Boys, David Jones, La Jolla
Basketball: Girls, David Monroe, Mater Dei; Boys, Ray Johnson, El Camino
Soccer: Girls, Hawver, Patrick Henry; Boys, Jorge Zavala, Mater Dei
Wrestling: Wayne Branstetter, Poway
Gymnastics: Monique Lamphiere-Tamayoshi, Mt. Carmel
Softball: Michael Roberts, University City
Baseball: Steve Vickery, El Capitan
Lacrosse: Boys, Alex Cade, Coronado; Girls, Shannon Robinson, Cathedral
Swimming & Diving: Boys, Kevin Manley, St. Augustine; Girls, Sean Redmond, Fallbrook
Track & Field: Boys, Gary Stathas, Steele Canyon; Girls, Don Jones, Rancho Bernardo
Water Polo: Boys & Girls, Dave Spence, Vista