Skip to main content

 Padres Honor Local Teaching Profession With 9th Annual Teacher Appreciation Night

​Teachers of the Year from school districts throughout San Diego County were honored on the field at Petco Park recently, as part of the 9th Annual Padres Teacher Appreciation Night.

”Tonight’s Teacher Appreciation Night is the Padres way to say ‘Thank You’ to San Diego County’s great classroom teachers,” said the Petco Park public address announcer at the April 16 recognition. “There are nearly 26,000 classroom teachers in San Diego County schools…men and women who’ve devoted their professional lives to our children. There is no profession more important to our communities, to our freedoms and traditions as Americans…than teaching. Thank you for helping the Padres honor our teachers tonight.”

Along with the newly named district Teachers of the Year, who lined up on the first and third basepaths, the five reigning San Diego County Teachers of the Year simultaneously threw out the ceremonial first pitch at Teacher Appreciation Night.

The five County Teachers of the Year are Donna Farquar of the Santee School District; Mike Love of the Grossmont Union High School District; Eric Mabrey of the Sweetwater Union High School District; Melanie Tolan of the Juvenile Court and Community Schools; and Kelly Kovacic of The Preuss School in San Diego Unified School District.

Teacher Appreciation Night was sponsored by Bridgepoint Education, also the title sponsor of Cox Presents A Salute to Teachers, the San Diego County Teacher of the Year Awards that will be held October 16 at Balboa Theatre.

Bridgepoint also awarded four scholarships for teachers during the Teacher Appreciation Night pre-game ceremonies, for Bridgepoint’s Masters of Education graduate program. Those teachers are: Tamara Davis and Natalie Priester of San Pasqual Academy, Amber Earnest of Los Penasquitos Elementary in Poway Unified School District, and Cheryl Kaiser of Oak Valley Middle School, also of Poway Unified.