Skip to main content

 Canyon Crest Academy Tops Olympian for 2012 County Academic League Championship

​​Canyon Crest Academy is the 2012 San Diego County Academic League Champion, defeating Olympian High 112-42 in the title match televised live by the County Office of Education’s ITV Ch. 16.

Canyon Crest, part of the San Dieguito Union High School District in North County, earlier topped the Grossmont Union High School District’s West Hills High 79-76 in one of the semi-final matches. In the other semi-final, Olympian beat Coronado, 105-51.

ITV Ch. 16 will air replays of both semi-finals and the championship match. The Coronado-Olympian semi-final will air Sunday, May 27 at 2 p.m. The Canyon Crest-West Hills semi will air June 3 at 2, and the championship replay will air June 10 at 2.

Coached by Brian Shay, the victorious Canyon Crest team was comprised of Elijah Granet, a junior who enjoys fencing, running and the school’s Model U.N. program; Henry Malabty, a senior with a strong affinity for math; Anthony Tokman, a senior and the team captain, whose favorite subject is physics; Raymond Wu, a senior and four-year member of the school’s Academic League team who plans to attend Stanford; and Michael Chen, a senior planning to study engineering at either Cal Tech or Harvard next year.

The Olympian squad was made up of senior Ben Mendler, class Valedictorian on his way to UC Berkeley; senior Andrew Valenciano, who will next attend UCSD; juniors Kyle Doria, who plans to attend USC, and Kristine Tolentino, planning to attend Berkeley; and sophomore Clinton Barnes, who plans to attend UCLA. Olympian was coached by Ken Bolton.

The West Hills team was comprised of seniors Matthew Brentano, captain Michael Gregory, Connor Richards, Sicily Famolaro, and junior Edward McGee. They were coached by Cheri Gabler, a chemistry teacher and 2007 San Diego County Teacher of the Year.

Coronado’s team included junior Alex Wells; seniors Nick Andrews, William Funk and Christopher Song; and junior Wright Smith. Also on the Coronado squad were Michael Bigham, Lisa Reilly, Maude Hoffmann and Andrew Morris. They were coached by Coronado High alum Casey Tanaka, who is the Mayor of the City of Coronado.