Skip to main content

Inspiring and leading innovation in education


 Six Local Schools Named 2013-14 Title I Academic Achievement Award Schools

​​State Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson today announced that six San Diego County schools are among 106 public schools that will be receiving the 2013-14 Title I Academic Achievement Award.​

“I am proud of what these schools have accomplished under often challenging circumstances,” Torlakson said. “Their administrators and teachers are committed to giving their students every opportunity to gain the knowledge and skills that will help them in school and throughout their lives.” 

The Title I Academic Achievement Award is given to schools receiving federal Title I funds as authorized by the Elementary and Secondary Education Act. Title I, the single largest federal educational program for K-12 public education, assists schools in meeting the educational needs of students living at or below the poverty line. Of the approximately 10,000 schools in California, more than 6,000 of them participate in the Title I program.

To receive this distinction, the school must demonstrate that all students are making significant progress toward proficiency on California's academic content standards. Additionally, the school's socioeconomically disadvantaged students must have doubled the achievement targets set for them for two consecutive years.

The National Title I Association also presents each year two National Title I Distinguished School Awards per state. The awards are given to one Academic Achievement Award-winning school that has demonstrated exceptional student performance for two or more consecutive years and to one that made the most progress in closing the achievement gap between student groups.

This year’s San Diego 2013-14 Title I Academic Achievement Award Schools:

  • Lilian J. Rice Elementary (Chula Vista Elementary School District)
  • Ocean Knoll Elementary (Encinitas Union Elementary School District)
  • Barnard Elementary (San Diego Unified School District)
  • Health Sciences High (San Diego Unified School District)
  • Sherman Elementary (San Diego Unified School District)
  • Vallecitos Elementary (Vallecitos Elementary School District)

To learn more about Title I awards, please visit the California Department of Education Academic Achievement Awards webpage.