Skip to main content

 35 Local Campuses Named ‘Distinguished Schools’

​Across the county, 35 schools were named California Distinguished Schools this week for their strong commitment and innovative approaches to improving student academic achievement.

Local winners included seven schools from Chula Vista Elementary School District and seven from Encinitas Union School District as well as many others from throughout the county. A complete list of winners is below.

In addition to being chosen as Distinguished Schools, two local schools received additional honors. Del Mar Heights Elementary School was selected as having an exemplary physical education program, and Ocean Beach Elementary School was recognized for its exemplary arts education program.

The 2014 California Distinguished Schools Program focuses on California's students' right to an equitable and rigorous education, and recognizes those schools that have made progress in narrowing the academic achievement gap.

"I applaud these strong, thriving schools that are making such impressive strides in preparing their students for continued success," State Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson said about the 424 schools that received the designation across the state. "This award is well-deserved by these school communities for their enduring dedication to high standards, hard work, and unwavering support."

To apply for Distinguished School honors, schools must meet a variety of eligibility criteria, including accountability measures. Once schools are deemed eligible, the California Department of Education invites them to apply to be recognized as a California Distinguished School.

The process consists of a written application, which includes a comprehensive description of two of the school's signature practices, and a county-led site validation review process focused on the implementation of those signature practices.

Schools earning the Distinguished School title agree to share their signature practices with other schools and become a mentor to those seeking to replicate their work.

Elementary and secondary schools are recognized in alternate years.

This year's San Diego County Distingu​​​ished Schools:

  • Arroyo Vista Charter (Chula Vista Elementary)
  • Barnard Elementary (San Diego Unified)
  • Capri Elementary (Encinitas Union Elementary)
  • Blossom Valley Elementary (Cajon Valley Union)
  • Carmel Del Mar Elementary (Del Mar Union Elementary)
  • Carrillo Elementary (San Marcos Unified)
  • Casillas (Joseph) Elementary (Chula Vista Elementary)
  • Creekside Elementary (Poway Unified)
  • Del Mar Heights Elementary (Del Mar Union Elementary)
  • Del Sur Elementary (Poway Unified)
  • Discovery Charter (Chula Vista Elementary)
  • Discovery Elementary (San Marcos Unified)
  • El Camino Creek Elementary (Encinitas Union Elementary)
  • Flora Vista Elementary (Encinitas Union Elementary)
  • Hope Elementary (Carlsbad Unified)
  • Ivey Ranch Elementary (Oceanside Unified)
  • La Costa Heights Elementary (Encinitas Union Elementary)
  • La Paloma Elementary (Fallbrook Union Elementary)
  • Lakeview Elementary (Lakeside Union Elementary)
  • Lilian J. Rice Elementary (Chula Vista Elementary)
  • Miller Elementary (San Diego Unified)
  • Mission Estancia Elementary (Encinitas Union Elementary)
  • Ocean Air (Del Mar Union Elementary)
  • Ocean Beach Elementary (San Diego Unified)​
  • Ocean Knoll Elementary (Encinitas Union Elementary)
  • Olivenhain Pioneer Elementary (Encinitas Union Elementary)
  • Ramona Community (Ramona City Unified)
  • Rios Elementary (Cajon Valley Union)
  • Rolando Elementary (La Mesa-Spring Valley)
  • Rosebank Elementary (Chula Vista Elementary)
  • San Diego Global Vision Academy (San Diego Unified)
  • Silver Wing Elementary (Chula Vista Elementary)
  • Solana Pacific Elementary (Solana Beach Elementary)
  • Stone Ranch Elementary (Poway Unified)
  • Sunnyside Elementary (Chula Vista Elementary)