Skip to main content

 Local Teaches to Be Honored Saturday at "A Salute to Teachers"

Five local educators will be named San Diego County Teachers of the Year Oct. 11 during “Cox Presents: A Salute to Teachers” presented by Ashford University in partnership with the San Diego County Office of Education.

The annual event honors San Diego County’s public school teachers and will be televised live on Channel 4 San Diego from 7 to 9 p.m. Saturday.

The San Diego County Teacher of the Year program offers the unique opportunity to honor the tireless efforts of local teachers and bring well-deserved recognition to the teaching profession.  The annual program serves to identify and recognize those teachers who most effectively represent and symbolize the positive contributions of all California teachers.

The County Teacher of the Year awards are the official stepping-stone to the California Teacher of the Year and National Teacher of the Year programs. The five newly named Teachers of the Year will represent San Diego County in the statewide program. The state winner will be announced later this year.

Since 1974, there have been 151 teachers named San Diego County Teacher of the Year. Of those teachers, 18 were named California Teacher of the Year and three went on to be named National Teacher of the Year.

There are a total of 42 teachers nominated for 2014-15 County Teacher of the Year honors out of approximately 26,000 current teachers in the region. Finalists were selected based on student achievement, teaching philosophy, familiarity with current issues in education and community involvement.