Skip to main content

Inspiring and leading innovation in education


 Mira Mesa High Educator Named Best Local Drama Teacher

A teacher at Mira Mesa High School was recently recognized as the Best Local Drama Teacher at a regional musical competition.

Daniel Kriley received the award as part of the Ben Vereen Awards, a unique scholarship opportunity for talented high school students who have chosen to pursue a career in musical theatre. The awards are sponsored by San Diego County Credit Union (SDCCU).

“The Best Local Drama Teacher Award provided the opportunity to recognize talented and hardworking teachers throughout San Diego County,” said SDCCU President and CEO Teresa Halleck. “The high school musical theatre students competing in the Ben Vereen Awards could never reach their full potential without the invaluable instruction and direction of such teachers.”

A total of 12 teachers were nominated and nearly 7,500 votes were submitted in the inaugural Best Local Drama Teacher Awards contest, which ran online from May 14 to 31. Students, parents, family members and friends were asked to nominate and vote for a deserving drama/theatre teacher who made a positive difference in their life, the life of a child or in the community. As part of the award, SDCCU will send Mr. Kriley to New York to attend the National High School Musical Theatre Awards.

“Mr. Kriley has worked round the clock for Mira Mesa High School for over 10 years, creating a theatre program that is a force to be reckoned with,” states his nomination form. “His high expectations, willingness to help students learn and encouragement ensure that his students will be prepared to move on to higher levels of performance.”

The Best Local Drama Teacher Award is part of the 2014 Ben Vereen Awards, sponsored by SDCCU and held in collaboration with Broadway/San Diego. Candidates for Best Musical, Best Actor and Best Actress, were selected from onsite adjudications of high school musicals at their home venues during the spring semester of the 2014 school year. Two San Diego County students will compete at the National High School Musical Theater Awards June 30.