Skip to main content

 May 14, 2014 San Diego County Schools Closure Update

​​​No changes since ​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​May 14, 2014, 9:37 p.m.

The safety and security of students, faculty, and staff is of the upmost importance to schools across the county.

As the current wildfires change and grow, each school district will continue to monitor the local emergency situation and make school closure decisions on a day-by-day basis. 

The below school districts will be closed on Thursday, May 15, 2014:

  • Bonsall Union
  • Cajon Valley
  • Cardiff
  • Carlsbad Unified
  • Coronado Unified 
  • Dehesa
  • Del Mar Union
  • Encinitas Union
  • Escondido Union Elementary
  • Escondido Union High
  • Fallbrook Union Elementary
  • Fallbrook Union High
  • Grossmont Union High
  • Lakeside Union
  • La Mesa-Spring Valley
  • Lemon Grove
  • Oceanside Unified
  • Poway Unified
  • Ramona Unified
  • Rancho Santa Fe
  • San Diego Unified
  • San Dieguito Union High
  • San Marcos Unified
  • San Pasqual Union
  • Santee
  • Solana Beach
  • Vallecitos
  • Valley Center-Pauma Unified
  • Vista Unified


All SDCOE Juvenile Court and Community Schools will also be closed, as will SDCOE's North County Regional Education Center, North County Academy, all Special Education programs Operated by NCCSE, HOPE Infant programs in the Northern Region, and Migrant Education programs in the Northern Region.​​

A large number of charter public schools have announced that they​ will be closed​​. ​The California Charter Schools Association has created a list of San Diego County charter school closures.

Follow the San Diego County Office of Education on Twitter for tweets from various emergency agencies and school districts.