Skip to main content

 County Board of Education to Fill District 5 Vacancy

The San Diego County Board of Education will appoint a board of education member at its meeting on July 8. The appointment will fill the vacant District 5 board seat. District 5 runs along the coast from Del Mar to Camp Pendleton.

The County Board of Education will interview candidates, make an appointment, and swear in the new board member at its regular meeting. Please visit the County Board of Education webpage to view the meeting agenda, which includes the candidate applications.

The meeting will take place on Wednesday, July 8 at the San Diego County Office of Education Joe

Rindone Regional Technology Center located at 6401 Linda Vista Road San Diego, CA 92111. The regular

board meeting will be at 4 p.m. and the District 5 process begins at 6 p.m.

District 5 candidates are:

  • Randy Berholtz, San Diego
  • Comischell Bradley-Rodriguez, San Diego
  • Stephen Cochrane, San Diego
  • Terri Colachis, Del Mar
  • Debra Keel Cooper, San Diego
  • Miles Durfee, San Diego
  • Jason Ge, San Diego
  • James Gibson, Oceanside
  • Shawn He, San Diego
  • Kara Joan La Russa, Fallbrook
  • Steven McDowell, Del Mar
  • Virginia Lyn Neylon, Carlsbad
  • Ginger S. Relyea, Carlsbad
  • Rick Shea, Encinitas
  • Eve Simmons, Cardiff by the Sea
  • Scott Wooden, San Diego

District 5 County Board of Education member Doug Perkins submitted his resignation from the board for long-term health reasons effective June 8.

The application period to fill the vacant seat began on June 12 and ended on July 1. The vacant seat must be filled from the district in which the vacancy occurs by appointment of a majority of the remaining members of the board. In accordance with provisions of the San Diego County Charter, the board has 45 days from the date of a vacancy to make the appointment.

The appointee will hold office until January 2017. A successor will be elected in 2016 to complete the term ending January 2019.