Skip to main content

 MTS and Coca-Cola Give Laptops to 40 High School Seniors

​Helping the environment, saving money, and extra study time were a few compelling arguments high school seniors made about the benefits of taking public transit in essays they wrote to win laptops as part of the Metropolitan Transit System (MTS) and Coca-Cola Laptop Scholarship Essay Contest.

Lenovo Yoga 2-in-1 touch-screen laptop computers were awarded to the top 40 student essay writers from 27 different schools in San Diego County. Students were required to submit an application form along with a 1,000-word persuasive essay targeting college students on the benefits of taking public transit to class and to get around San Diego. The laptop scholarship contest is a partnership between MTS, Coca-Cola Refreshments of San Diego, and the San Diego County Office of Education.

"Each year, the competition grows. Students participated from all over the county, including Chula Vista, El Cajon, Scripps Ranch and Oceanside. Many of these students are also passengers, so they understand the benefits to taking transit," said MTS Board Chairman Harry Mathis. "We appreciate the partnership with Coca-Cola and the San Diego County Office of Education to help make this a great learning experience for hundreds of students participating each year."

To be eligible to win, students had to be San Diego County residents, enrolled in a San Diego County high school, and slated to graduate in spring 2015. Judging criteria for the student essays were based on creativity, grammar, research, and critical thinking. MTS received 206 entries from students at 66 different high schools. 

Winners of the 2015 MTS and Coca-Cola Laptop Scholarship Essay Contest:                      

Alex Tung, Mira Mesa High School                                                                          

Isaiah Osborne, Madison High School

Amineh Rastandeh, Torrey Pines High School                                                     

Isaac Padilla Tapia, The Preuss School UC San Diego

Anders Bogan, Mission Vista High School                                                             

Jasmine Nichols, San Marcos High School

Ariana Huesias, Mission Vista High School                                                           

Jazmin Quintanilla, San Ysidro High School

Autumn Murphy, Torrey Pines High School                                                         

Karla Real, Garfield High School

Baylee Cardwell, Point Loma High School                                                             

Lily Buchanan, Patrick Henry High School

Benjamin Guo, Grossmont High School                                                                

Lucas Pereira, Eastlake High School

Bonnie Lin, Eastlake High School                                                                              

Madelyn Dow, Valhalla High School

Bryan Duong Trieu, Eastlake High School                                                              

Mary Cozy, Herbert Hoover High School

Camille Harris, San Diego High School                                                                    

Michaela Elmer, Cathedral Catholic High School

Claire Kosinski, Escondido High School                                                                   

Nicholas Misleh, University City High School

David Mendoza, Montgomery High School                                                         

Paris Gramann, High Tech High North County

Emilie Rodriguez, Helix Charter High School                                                         

Payton Hovey, Point Loma High School

Emmanuel Huff, Patrick Henry High School                                                         

Priscilla Tamborini, Montgomery High School

Emmanuel Lopez Prieto, The Preuss School UC San Diego                            

Rebekah House, Eastlake High School

Frankie Orona Jr., Olympian High School                                                              

Renelle Gadon, Olympian High School

Gabriela Arce Mendez, TOP Blended Community School                               

Ryan Zentmyer, Grossmont High School

Graham Root, Helix Charter High School                                                               

Thuy Hong Nguyen, Serra High School

Jenna Hugo, Scripps Ranch High School                                                                

Varun Krishnan, La Jolla High School

Joey Gardetto, Helix Charter High School                                                             

Victoria Tom, Westview High School