Skip to main content

Inspiring and leading innovation in education


 Students of All Backgrounds Invited to CAAASA's Annual Youth Summit

Students of All Backgrounds Invited to CAAASA's Annual Youth Summit

The California Association of African-American Superintendents and Administrators (CAAASA) will host a Youth Summit on March 7, from 8 a.m. to 1 p.m. at the Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina.
The Youth Leadership Summit will provide students of all backgrounds an opportunity to dialogue with educators and leaders throughout the state to understand how to become advocates and work together to impact public education. This will include college access and readiness, discussion on grants, and making college a success. The summit will also include seminars with first and second year college students and high school juniors and seniors.

The cost of the Youth Summit is $75 per student and includes:
  • Lunch
  • College fair with college readiness workshops including: entrance exams, funding, academic support, and other related topics
  • Restorative and social justice workshops aligned to state standards
  • Town hall forum addressing current youth advocacy Issues
  • Nationally recognized motivational and inspirational speakers
  • Service learning/community service credit and certificate
  • NO COST FOR CHAPERONES (all schools attending must provide chaperones)
  • Transportation available to school districts in the San Diego area

Seats for the Youth Summit are filling up. Download a full information and application packet.

For additional information and registration please contact Dwight Bonds via email or phone (818-321-7779) or Michael Dennis via email or phone (310-613-3316). You may also visit
CAAASA is a nonprofit, 501c3 organization, whose primary purpose is to address key issues in education that negatively impact African-American and other under-served students. The 2017 CAAASA Professional Development Summit (co-sponsored by the California Department of Education and other statewide associations) will include county and district superintendents, district administrators, principals, teachers, school board members, parents and others.