Skip to main content

Inspiring and leading innovation in education


 2017 Classroom of the Future Foundation Awardees Announced

The Classroom of the Future Foundation (CFF) has announced the 2017 Class of Awardees to be honored at the 14th annual Innovation in Education Awards at SeaWorld.

The "inspire award"  illustrates the unique attributes of the program that get kids excited about learning. This award specifically focuses on the program characteristics responsible for increasing student interest and enhancing student learning. The 2017 inspire award will be presented to the hydroponic greenhouse program at Feaster Charter Middle School in the Chula Vista Elementary School District.

The "innovate award" showcases the creative innovations of the programs that facilitate enhanced learning. This award specifically focuses on the uniqueness of the “program actions” that increase student interest and drive achievement. The 2017 innovate award will be presented to the quadcopter challenge program in the Sweetwater Union High School District.

The "achieve award" demonstrates the tangible program results that drive student learning. It specifically focuses on the “program evidence” that directly correlates to positive student outcomes. The 2017 achieve award will be presented to the Next Generation Science Core Leadership Team (CLT) program in the Vista Unified School District.

The "impact award" is a best-of-show award given to the one program that best embodies all three CFF goals – to inspire, innovate and achieve. The 2017 impact award will be presented to the Vista Innovation & Design Academy (VIDA) in the Vista Unified School District.

In addition to the Innovation Awards, CFF recognizes a group of educators with special awards for the extraordinary impact that they each have made on the learning environment in San Diego County. The 2017 special awards are:

  • Visionary & Outstanding Leadership Award: National University
  • Innovative Superintendent Award: Dr. Justin Cunningham, Bonsall Unified School District
  • Innovative Principal Award: Maria Kehoe, Rios Elementary School, Cajon Valley Union School District
  • Innovative Educator Award: Dan Stoneman, Chief Innovation Officer, San Diego Unified School District
  • Career Pathways Educator of the Year Award: Principal Keith Nuthall, Del Lago Academy - Campus of Applied Science, Escondido Union High School District
  • SDCUE Innovative TOSA of the Year: Heather Love-Fleck, Oceanside Unified School District
  • SDCUE Innovative Teacher of the Year: Allison Slatery, Bonsall Unified School District

The May 24 Innovation in Education Awards event will bring together more than 500 educators and business leaders to highlight champions of educational innovation in the community, as well as exceptional students pursuing careers in STEM education.

Congratulations to the 2017 Class of Awardees!