Skip to main content

Inspiring and leading innovation in education


 33 San Diego County Elementary Schools Honored as 2018 California Distinguished Schools

State Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson announced that 33 San Diego County elementary schools are among 287 across the state being honored under the Distinguished Schools Program. This program returns after a three-year break, and replaces the California Gold Ribbon Schools Program.

"These schools implement outstanding educational programs and practices that help California students realize their potential, and put them on the path to achieve their dreams," Torlakson said. "Every day at these schools, teachers, administrators and classified employees, working with parents, apply their dedication, creativity, and talents toward providing a great education for all their students."

Sponsored by California Casualty, the 2018 California Distinguished Schools Program recognizes California elementary schools that have made exceptional gains in implementing academic content and performance standards adopted by the State Board of Education.

Schools that applied were eligible based on their performance and progress on the state indicators as described on the California School Dashboard. Indicators include test scores, suspension rates, and English learner progress. Schools were also eligible to apply for a California Exemplary Program Award in Arts Education, and/or Physical Activity and Nutrition Education, which will be announced at a later time. These award winners represent examples of not just excellent teaching, learning, and collaborating, but also highly successful school climate efforts, ranging from real time conflict resolution to positive behavior intervention. 

Congratulations to the students and staff of the following schools and districts:

  • Ada W. Harris Elementary (Cardiff)
  • Aviara Oaks Elementary (Carlsbad Unified)
  • Barnard Elementary (San Diego Unified)
  • Benchley/Weinberger Elementary (San Diego Unified)
  • Bostonia Language Academy (Cajon Valley Union)
  • Chesterton Elementary (San Diego Unified)
  • Cook (Hazel Goes) Elementary (Chula Vista Elementary)
  • Edison Elementary (San Diego Unified)
  • Elevate Elementary (San Diego Unified)
  • Empresa Elementary (Vista Unified)
  • Gage Elementary (San Diego Unified)
  • Garfield Elementary (San Diego Unified)
  • Green Elementary (San Diego Unified)
  • Hancock Elementary (San Diego Unified)
  • Holmes Elementary (San Diego Unified)
  • Jerabek Elementary (San Diego Unified)
  • La Jolla Elementary (San Diego Unified)
  • Loma Verde Elementary (Chula Vista Elementary)
  • Miller Elementary (San Diego Unified)
  • Miramar Ranch Elementary (San Diego Unified)
  • Monterey Ridge Elementary (Poway Unified)
  • Nye Elementary (San Diego Unified)
  • Ocean View Hills (San Ysidro)
  • Pacific Rim Elementary (Carlsbad Unified)
  • Park Village Elementary (Poway Unified)
  • San Elijo Elementary (San Marcos Unified)
  • San Onofre Elementary (Fallbrook Union Elementary)
  • Sessions Elementary (San Diego Unified)
  • Skyline Elementary (Solana Beach)
  • Solana Pacific Elementary (Solana Beach)
  • Toler Elementary (San Diego Unified)
  • Veterans Elementary (Chula Vista Elementary)
  • Grove Elementary (Poway Unified)

In addition, this year California will also recognize exemplary districts that have made a positive impact on student outcomes. These California Exemplary Districts, the Distinguished Schools, National Title I Distinguished Schools, Green Ribbon Schools, Civic Learning Award Schools, and National Blue Ribbon Schools from 2017, will be honored in May during a ceremony at the Disneyland Hotel in Anaheim. The following day, educators from these schools will share their expertise and resources during a professional development day. 

For more information and to view a full list of schools, please visit the California Distinguished Schools Program on the California Department of Education's website.