Skip to main content

Inspiring and leading innovation in education


 ASB Presidents to Be Honored at Laurels for Leaders Luncheon

Nearly 100 high school seniors will be honored for the work they've done this year to improve their schools at the 62nd annual Washington-Lincoln Laurels for Leaders luncheon Feb. 20.  

The luncheon, held at SDSU, is an opportunity for associated student body (ASB) presidents from schools throughout the county to network with each other as well as with community and business leaders.

"I think this is a great way to recognize ASB presidents for the work they do," said Abby Douglas, last year's ASB president at Oceanside High School. "One of the hardest things about ASB is that you do a lot of the behind-the-scenes work and don't always get recognized."

The public can help honor the students by sponsoring one and joining them at the luncheon. Register or get more details about sponsorship at the Laurels for Leaders website.

"It's really a great opportunity to see what our young leaders are up to and to try to instill them a sense of leadership in the long term," said Mike Boland, president of the Washington-Lincoln Laurels for Leaders board of directors.

During the luncheon, the students will hear an inspirational speech from Retired Rear Admiral Len Hering, a nationally recognized expert on the environment and security.

Each student at the event will receive a check for $250 as well as a recognition certificate and medallion from Washington-Lincoln Laurels for Leaders, a local nonprofit started in 1957.

This year's honorees are:

  • Molly Schroeder, Academy of Our Lady of Peace
  • Eshner David, Army and Navy Academy
  • Shreya Ranganath, Bonita Vista High School
  • Maddison Walsh, Bonsall High School
  • Melody Li, Canyon Crest Academy
  • Celina Hosking, Castle Park High School
  • Lauren Munro, Cathedral Catholic High School
  • Laurel Beezer, Christian High School
  • Marlyn Zuno, Chula Vista High School
  • Skyler Fickett, Clairemont High School
  • Elliot Pak, Classical Academy High School
  • Avery Dozier, Coronado High School
  • Huda Ahmed, Crawford High School
  • Douglas Helmer, Del Lago Academy
  • Delaney Anderson, Del Norte High School
  • Grecia Jimenez , East Village High School
  • Sean Darcy, Eastlake High School
  • Deved Shamoun, El Cajon Valley High School
  • Bella Teta, El Camino High School
  • Madison Rust, El Capitan High School
  • Benjamin Rangel, Escondido Adventist Academy
  • Bethany Hydar, Escondido Charter High School
  • Ronni Williams, Escondido High School
  • Kendra Donoghue, Fallbrook High School
  • Julia Bernicker, Francis Parker School
  • Shaila Campos, Garfield High School
  • Victoria Orozco, Gompers Preparatory Academy
  • Damian Hidalgo. Granite Hills High School
  • Kennedy Dirkes, Grossmont High School
  • Kyra-Mariae Toves, Guajome Park Academy
  • Jessica Husted, Helix Charter High School
  • Christopher Stagner, Henry High School
  • Briana Bautista, Hilltop High School
  • Micaela Chopineau, Hoover High School
  • Hilda Gaxiola, IDEA Center
  • Dahlia Canonigo, iHigh Virtual Academy
  • Ryan Lay, Julian High School
  • Jennifer Aylin Garcia Hernandez, Kearny High School
  • Keelin Grubb, La Costa Canyon High School
  • Yuqi Yang, La Jolla Country Day School
  • Shushu Crevoshay, La Jolla High School
  • Christina Blore, Liberty Charter High School
  • Phonisha Pruitt, Lincoln High School
  • Nolan Huckabone, Madison High School
  • Jennifer Tapia, Mar Vista High School
  • Madeline Castillo, Mater Dei Catholic High School
  • Naedeen Aquino, Mira Mesa High School
  • Cynthia Taboada, Mission Bay High School
  • Alex Hernandez, Mission Hills High School
  • Jasmine Koehler, Mission Vista High School
  • Zyrille Sabio, Monte Vista High School
  • Adriana Real, Montgomery High School
  • Amie Bagay, Morse High School
  • Jade Mahaney, Mount Miguel High School
  • Sujhey Rosas, Mountain Empire High School
  • Ashlyn Horpayak, Mt. Everest Academy
  • Gabrielle Wilds, Mt. Everest Academy
  • Blake Yamamoto, Olympian High School
  • Yarelis Lopez Martinez, Orange Glen High School
  • Jordan Hands, Otay Ranch High School
  • Aleida Newhouse, Palomar High School
  • Sean Fallon, Poway High School
  • Jimmy Tran, Preuss School, UCSD
  • Sarah Pascarella, Ramona High School
  • Kate Zielinski, Rancho Buena Vista High School
  • Sofia Naranjo, San Diego High School
  • Ilan Leisorek, San Diego Jewish Academy
  • Delphinia Senske, San Diego MET
  • Jeremy Romero, San Dieguito High School Academy
  • Abigail Velazquez, San Marcos High School
  • Rebeca Brown, San Pasqual High School
  • Michelle Villarreal, San Ysidro High School
  • Sam Odenkirk, Santana High School
  • Marilaine Kate Roque, School of Creative & Performing Arts
  • Jerry Yang, Scripps Ranch High School
  • Marco Abbiate, Serra High School
  • Jeskari Rodriguez, Southwest High School
  • Christopher Erpelding, St. Augustine High School
  • Samuel Greenbergs, Steele Canyon High School
  • Ruth Pineda, Sweetwater High School
  • Gabe Thomas. The Bishop's School
  • Melinda Byrne, Torrey Pines High School
  • Joshua Thompson, Tri-City Christian Schools
  • Maria Islas, Twin Oaks High School
  • Samantha Staples, University City High School
  • Sandrien Mekany, Valhalla High School
  • Kiera Bernet, Valley Center High School
  • Rebekah Caesar, Victory Christian Academy
  • Gabriella Crouch, Vista High School
  • Ethan Rombal, Warner School
  • Natalia Nasrawi, West Hills High School
  • Dean Olsson, Westview High School