Skip to main content

 San Diego County Teachers of the Year to be named during at Cox Presents: A Salute to Teachers on Sept. 7

Forty-two local teachers recognized by their districts as teachers of the year are now nominees for San Diego County Teacher of the Year. Five will be named the 2019-20 San Diego County Teachers of the Year at the 29th annual Cox Presents: A Salute to Teachers, airing live at 7 p.m. on Saturday, Sept. 7 on YurView (Cox Channel 4 and 1004 in high definition).

The glamorous Academy Awards-style show, presented by San Diego County Credit Union, will be televised live from the Balboa Theatre in downtown San Diego. Cox Presents: A Salute to Teachers recognizes the county’s 22,000 public school teachers and features musical and dance performances leading up to the announcement of the five County Teachers of the Year, who will represent the region while vying for California Teacher of the Year honors.

Cox Presents: A Salute to Teachers is open to all ages. Tickets are $15.50 (price includes a $1.50 service fee; additional fees apply for online and phone purchases). Discounts are available for groups of 10 or more and for those who mention title sponsor San Diego County Credit Union. Enter SDCCU in the offer code box for online orders. Tickets can be purchased online; by calling the Balboa Theatre at 570-1100 (all San Diego area codes); at the Advance Sales windows at Third Avenue and B Street from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. Monday through Friday; and at the theater box office, 868 Fourth Ave., which is open only on performance days. 

For 29 years, Cox Communications, in partnership with the San Diego County Office of Education, has produced and televised Cox Presents: A Salute to Teachers to honor San Diego County’s public school teachers for their commitment to teaching, learning, and students. Dennis Morgigno and Delana Bennett will serve as the show co-hosts. Morgigno is an award-winning veteran San Diego broadcast journalist. Bennett is afternoon host on radio station STAR 94.1.

Student performances during the show will include musician Marissa Grace; Theatre Boys Acapella, a group of singers from the San Diego School of Creative and Performing Arts, Patrick Henry, and Poway high schools; and students from Infinity Dance and Performing Arts.

The 42 nominees for Teacher of the Year were selected by their respective school districts.  Of those, five will be named County Teacher of the Year. The top five teachers are selected based on student achievement, professional development and community involvement, teaching philosophy and personal style, knowledge of educational issues and trends, promotion and development of the teaching profession, accountability, and ability to serve as ambassadors of education.