Skip to main content

 Honoring Our Own Recognizes Those Making a Difference

San Diego County will honor next month the educators, parents, community members, board members and support staff who make a difference in the lives of students at the annual Honoring Our Own Awards, which will be virtual this year.

The awards will recognize the 2020 San Diego County School Boards Association award recipients and the Association of California School Administrators Region 18 administrators of the year. Honoring Our Own is a collaboration between the two organizations.

The event will be Oct. 3 and will start at 5:30 p.m. with a pre-event honoree showcase. The awards begin at 6 p.m. on YouTube.

Congratulations to the 2020 ACSA Region 18 Administrator of the Year Awardees! 

San Diego County School Boards Association

​School Board Member of the Year — Dede Alpert Award
Joyce Dalessandro
San Dieguito Union High School District

​Staff Member of the Year
Gerardo Murillo
National School District

​Confidential Employee of the Year
Kristine Beverly
Encinitas Union School District

​Community Partners of the Year
Warner Springs Community Resource Center
San Dieguito Alliance for Drug Free Youth

Association of California School Administrators Region 18

Jon LeDoux
El Centro Elementary School District

​Curriculum and Instruction
Jeanette Montano
Imperial County Office of Education

​Secondary Principal
Martin Casas
Escondido Union High School District

​Curriculum and Instruction
Matthew Tessier
Chula Vista Elementary School District

​Middle Grades Principal
Scott Corso
Poway Unified School District

​Classified Leader
Luis Brown
Imperial County Office of Education

​Middle Grades Principal
Justin Goodrich
Cajon Valley Union School District

​Adult Education
Ryan Burke
Sweetwater Union High School District

​Elementary Principal
Jerry Jones
Solana Beach School District

​Special Education
Janice Lau
El Centro Elementary School District

​Elementary Principal
Rafael Olavide
Vista Unified School District

​Personnel/Human Resources
Rachel Austin
Carlsbad Unified School District

​Central Office
Caroline Brown
Solana Beach School District

​Student Services
Tim Evanson
Carlsbad Unified School District

Central Office
Manuela Colom
San Ysidro School District

​Continuation/Educational Options
Dawn Zwibel
County Collaborative Charter School

Confidential Employee
Cheryl Stewart
Jamul-Dulzura Union School District

Deborah Burke
ACSA Retired Charter, Lemon Grove School District

Business Services
Oscar Esquivel
Chula Vista Elementary School District

Rauna Fox
San Pasqual Valley Unified School District

​Career Technical Education
Simon Canalez
Brawley Union High School District

Jennifer Burks
Poway Unified School District