Skip to main content

 Innovation in Education Awards Winners Announced

Are you ready for the premiere awards event in San Diego that honors educators and students for their innovative achievements? The 18th annual “Innovation in Education Awards” by the Classroom of the Future Foundation will take place on Thursday, Sept. 23 at SeaWorld San Diego. 

Congratulations to the following award winners:

Innovation Awards

Impact Award
Adobe Bluff’s Mandarin Programs
Adobe Bluffs Elementary School (ABES)
Poway Unified School District

Achieve Award
CyberAegis Team
Poway Unified School District

Innovate Award
GUHSD Growing Readers through Gamification
Summer Reading Program
Grossmont Union High School District

Inspire Award
Creating our Future Design Jam
Juvenile Court and Community Schools
San Diego County Office of Education

Honorable Mention Impact Award
Instructional Technology - COVID First Responders
Instructional Technology Department
San Diego Unified School District

Honorable Mention Achieve Award
National Elementary School District

Honorable Mention Innovate Award
CVESD Innovation LIVE!
Chula Vista Elementary School District
Innovation and Instruction Department

Honorable Mention Inspire Award
Sci Phy Program
San Ysidro Elementary School District

Special Awards

Todd W. Gutschow Visionary & Outstanding Leadership Award 
Malin Burnham
The Burnham Foundation

Innovative Superintendent Award
Dr. Leighangela Brady
National School District

Innovative Educator Award
Dr. Rob Nye
Assistant Superintendent for Instructional Services
Carlsbad Unified School District

Innovative Principal Award
Eric Frandsen
Surfside Educational Academy
Oceanside Unified School District

College & Career Pathways Educators of the Year Award
Laura Gardiner, Culinary Arts Teacher
Kristi Sovacool, Culinary Arts, Baking & Pastry Teacher
Kara Walker, Hospitality IA
Orange Glen High School
Escondido Union High School District

SDCUE Innovative Teacher of the Year Award
Sarah Kesty, Sweetwater Union High School District

SDCUE Innovative TOSA of the Year Award
Lauren Leathers, San Diego Unified School District

Here are the details on the event for the 18th Annual Innovation in Education Awards:

  • Thursday, September 23
  • 4 to 8 p.m. Pacific Time
  • SeaWorld San Diego (parking is free)
  • Registration and tickets are required. Contact Jane Schlosberg for details.