Skip to main content

 Honoring Our Own Recognizes Those Making a Difference

San Diego County will honor the educators, parents, community members, board members and support staff who make a difference in the lives of students at the 19th annual Honoring Our Own Awards. The virtual event, co-sponsored by the Association of California School Administrators Region 18 and the San Diego County School Boards Association, will be held on May 1 beginning with a pre-event at 5:30 p.m. The virtual awards presentation will begin at 6 p.m. on YouTube.

Congratulations to the awardees, who are listed below.

San Diego County School Boards Association Honorees

​School Board Member of the Year
Dr. Gary Woods
Grossmont Union High School District

​First Term Board Member
Ms. Martha Alvarado
Vista Unified School District

​Administrator/Confidential Staff Member
Ms. Norma Carillo
Valley Center - Pauma Unified School District

​Staff Member of the Year
Mr. Wil Salley
Vista Unified School District

​Community Partner of the Year
San Diego County Office of Education
Dr. Paul Gothold, Superintendent

​Parent Volunteer
Ms. Yu Linda Song
Solana Beach School District

Dede Alpert Award
Dr. Debra Schade
Solana Beach School District

Association of California School Administrators Region 18 Honorees

Marian Kim Phelps
Poway Unified School District

​Curriculum and Instruction
Marco Arellano
El Centro Elementary School District

​Secondary Principal
Eileen Frazier
Oceanside Unified School District

​Career Technical Education
Joe Austin
Poway Unified School District

​Middle Grades Principal
Precious Jackson Hubbard
San Diego Unified School District

​Continuation/Educational Options
Jorge Espinosa
Carlsbad Unified School District

​Middle Grades Principal
Heather Potter
San Diego Unified School District

Personnel/Human Resources
Michelle Hayes
Cajon Valley Union School District

​Elementary Principal
Jeri Billick
Ramona Unified School District

​Special Education
Sharon Casey
Chula Vista Elementary School District

Central Office
Staci Monreal
San Diego Unified School District

Student Services
Rich Watkins
Escondido Union High School District

​Central Office
John Czajkowski
Sweetwater Union High School District

Business Services
Gary Petill
San Diego Unified School District

Secondary Co-Administrator
Tessa Riley
Escondido Union High School District

Sandra Clifton
Region 18 Retiree Charter

Elementary Co-Administrator
Stephanie Ceminsky
San Diego Unified School District

Mark Burroughs
San Pasqual Union School District

Classified Leader
Jennifer Orr
Solana Beach School District

Richard Roberts
Grossmont Union High School District

Confidential Employee
Kristie Towne
Solana Beach School District

​Marcus Foster Memorial Award
Staci McClanahan Dent
San Diego Unified School District

​Valuing Diversity Award
Carol Osborne
Poway Unified School District

Partners in Educational Excellence Award
UC San Diego Health
Jacqueline Carr, Exec. Dir. of Communication