Skip to main content

 ​Spotlight an Equity Champion with a Lighthouse Award

This season of thankfulness and gratitude is the perfect time to spotlight a champion for educational equity in your school, district, or community. 

These people go above and beyond to be a beacon of hope and light for students and adults in a system that wasn’t built to meet the needs of each individual. 

That’s why the San Diego County Office of Education created the Lighthouse Awards – to showcase the amazing people doing the work to lead others in diversity, equity, and inclusion. Nominations are being accepted now through Dec. 8 on the Equity Conference 2021 website.

The honorees will be recognized during the virtual Equity Conference from Jan. 19 to 22. The conference features local experts, nationally recognized speakers, and educators implementing systemic change to support all students. 

Take a minute to review the award categories and then nominate someone who deserves to be recognized. 

  • Turnaround School Leader award goes to a school administrator who fosters and leads equitable outcomes for all learners and has been a beacon of light for an entire community.

  • Turnaround Teacher award is for a classroom teacher who embraces diversity, equity, and inclusion and has helped achieve positive social and academic outcomes for all students.

  • Turnaround Support Staff award goes to a school counselor, nurse, school psychologist, paraprofessional, or others who actively supports all students, in pursuit of academic and/or social emotional excellence.

  • Equity Champion award is for a community leader who encompasses the light necessary for people to come together and create multiple opportunities for all students and families in pursuit of equitable outcomes and opportunities.

  • No Place for Hate® Leader award goes to an active member of their school’s No Place for Hate® committee and demonstrates leadership in their role on the committee and throughout the school community. This person embodies the values laid out in ADL's No Place for Hate® pledge and has continued to put the commitment of No Place for Hate® at the forefront of their school community even in these challenging times.