Skip to main content

 Cox Presents: Salute to Teachers Television Special Honors County Teachers of the Year

Salute to Teachers logoAs part of the 31st annual “Cox Presents: Salute to Teachers,” Cox Communications will televise a one-hour special that shares the stories of five teachers from across the region named the 2021-22 San Diego County Teachers of the Year. 

Produced in partnership with the San Diego County Office of Education, “Cox Presents: Salute To Teachers,” brought to you by San Diego County Credit Union, will air at 9 p.m. Oct. 17 on YurView (Channel 4 and 1004). The pre-recorded show was hosted by San Diego native and national television personality Troy Johnson.

In addition to honoring the new San Diego County Teachers of the Year, the show will share heartwarming and inspiriational stories from local educators as they faced the challenges of teaching their students during a global pandemic. 

The 2021-22 San Diego County Teachers of the Year are:

  • Tiffany Jokerst, West Hills High School, Grossmont Union High School District 
  • Jacquelyn Jourdane, San Altos Elementary School, Lemon Grove School District 
  • Heather McClain, James Dukes Elementary School, Ramona Unified School District 
  • Laura Reyes, Central Elementary School, Escondido Union School District 
  • Xye Sanders, César Chávez Middle School, Oceanside Unified School District 

Sponsors of the 31st  annual “Cox Presents: Salute to Teachers” include presenting sponsor San Diego County Credit Union, Procopio, KPBS, iHeart Radio, The Mightier 1090, The San Diego Union-Tribune, and San Diego Magazine.

“Cox Presents: Salute to Teachers” will replay:

  • Oct. 23 at 2 p.m.
  • Oct. 24 at 9 p.m.
  • Oct. 30 at 2 p.m
  • Oct. 31 at 9 p.m.
  • Nov. 6 at 2 p.m.
  • Nov. 7 at 9 p.m.
  • Nov. 13 at 2 p.m.

For additional information, visit Cox Presents: Salute to Teachers.