Skip to main content

Inspiring and leading innovation in education


 40 High Schoolers Win New Laptops as Part of SDCOE, MTS, and Coca-Cola Advertising Contest

The Metropolitan Transit System (MTS) introduced the 40 winners of the annual Laptop Scholarship Contest at a ceremony last week at the 12th & Imperial Transit Center. More than 165 students from 53 different high schools entered the contest.

The top 40 scoring students from 24 different high school campuses in San Diego County were awarded Dell-Inspiron 2-in-1 13.3” touch-screen laptop computers. Students in grades 9-12 were required to submit an advertising campaign strategy aimed at attracting new MTS Trolley and bus passengers. Students had to define a target audience, message strategy and create an original poster ad design with slogan. As a bonus, two of the advertisements will be displayed at an MTS bus shelter.

“These students are very creative. The advertising campaigns focused on important issues to San Diego transit such as helping the environment, realizing cost-savings and tourism promotion,” said Harry Mathis, MTS board chair. “We appreciate the partnership with Coca-Cola and the San Diego County Office of Education to help promote this contest and make it a success. It’s a great learning experience for the students.”

The laptop scholarship contest is a long-standing event partnership between MTS, Coca-Cola Refreshments of San Diego and the San Diego County Office of Education. To be eligible to win, students had to be San Diego County residents and enrolled in a San Diego County high school.

Congratulations to:

  • Jeremy Arbiso (El Camino High School)
  • Luis Barriuan (Mission Vista High School)
  • Julia Barreda (Sweetwater High School)
  • Joseph Beerhalter (El Camino High School)
  • Salma Belen Rizo Flores (Mission Bay High School)
  • Keila Bosinger (Eastlake High School)
  • Olivia Buchanan (Patrick Henry High School)
  • Alexis Bullock (Steele Canyon High School)
  • Heather Cochran (El Camino High School)
  • Nathaniel Collier (Escondido Charter High School)
  • Brandon Covarrubias (East Village High School)
  • Andrew Biep (Serra HIgh School)
  • Karina Farlas (East Village High School)
  • Madeline Fossler (Christian High School)
  • Elisabeth Garcia (East Village High School)
  • Jonathan Garcia-Ramirez (East Village High School)
  • Maribel Congalez Ramirez (The Preuss School UCSD)
  • Endiya Griffin (San Diego Met High School)
  • Odelia Ha (Escondido High School)
  • Jon Harper, Jr. (East Village High School)
  • Miriam Hernandez Gomez (High Tech High International)
  • Alexia Holaday (West Hills High School)
  • Kaitlyn Kolsky (Mount Carmel High School)
  • Kevin Kwik (Clairemont High School)
  • Banjamin Lam (Helix Charter High School)
  • Martha Lara (El Camino High School)
  • Alan Lin (Eastlake High School)
  • David Lujano (SIA Tech South Bay Charter High School)
  • Kayla Martinez (El Camino High School)
  • Vicenta Martinez Govea (La Jolla High School)
  • Angel Meza-Rodriguez (El Camino High School)
  • Valeria Montemayor (East Village High School)
  • Anna Mungia (Mount Miguel High School)
  • Simone Rosario (Eastlake High School)
  • Pheleep Sidhom (El Camino High School)
  • Beatrice Soliven (El Camino High School)
  • Patricia Tonsing (Granite Hills High School)
  • Montserrat Ventura (Academy of Our Lady of Peace)
  • Cesia Villa (Clairemont High School)
  • Jincie Zadrozny (El Camino High School)

Every weekday more than 300,000 passenger trips are taken on MTS bus and Trolley services in 10 cities and unincorporated areas of the county. In FY 2016, MTS served 92.6 million riders. For more information on how you can use public transportation and save money, go to