Skip to main content

 42 Local Elementary Schools Achieve Coveted ´Distinguished School´ Status

​Forty-two San Diego County public elementary schools have been named 2012 California Distinguished Schools, State Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson announced today.

“The schools we are recognizing today demonstrate the incredible commitment of California’s teachers, administrators, and school employees to provide a world-class education to every student, in spite of the financial hardships facing our state and our schools,” Torlakson said. “Their dedication is inspiring, and I applaud and admire their passion and persistence.”

San Diego Unified School District led the way locally with 11 schools earning “Distinguished” status. Chula Vista Elementary School District was next with 9, followed by Poway Unified with 7, and San Marcos Unified with three. The Alpine, Bonsall, and Cajon Valley Union School Districts, Solana Beach, and Valley Center-Pauma Unified School Districts had one each.

“We’re very proud of the work that’s been done,” said Chula Vista Elementary School District Assistant Superintendent John Nelson. “The nine schools recognized as Distinguished Schools represent the work of all 44 of our schools. Their work to close the achievement gap is highly commendable, and we’re very, very proud of each and every one of them.”

The Distinguished Schools program identifies and honors schools that have demonstrated educational excellence for all students and progress in narrowing the achievement gap between students of different ethnic and socio-economic groups.

School must be invited to apply for Distinguished School honors, based on their achievement, and must meet a variety of eligibility criteria including the federal Elementary and Secondary Education Act (No Child Left Behind) and the California Academic Performance Index .

2012 California Distinguished Schools In San Diego County (School District)

  • Alpine Elementary (Alpine Union Elementary)
  • Bonsall West Elementary (Bonsall Union Elementary)
  • Fuerte Elementary (Cajon Valley Union)
  • Buena Vista Elementary (Carlsbad Unified)
  • Chula Vista Hills Elementary (Chula Vista Elementary)
  • Eastlake Elementary (Chula Vista Elementary)
  • John J. Montgomery Elementary (Chula Vista Elementary)
  • Lauderbach Elementary (Chula Vista Elementary)
  • Liberty Elementary (Chula Vista Elementary)
  • Otay Elementary (Chula Vista Elementary)
  • Palomar Elementary (Chula Vista Elementary)
  • Valle Lindo Elementary (Chula Vista Elementary)
  • Valley Vista Elementary (Chula Vista Elementary)
  • L. R. Green Elementary (Escondido Union)
  • Lemon Avenue Elementary (La Mesa-Spring Valley
  • Murray Manor Elementary (La Mesa-Spring Valley​)
  • Clover Flat Elementary (Mountain Empire Unified)
  • North Terrace Elementary (Oceanside Unified)
  • Palmquist Elementary (Oceanside Unified)
  • Chaparral Elementary (Poway Unified)
  • Los Penasquitos Elementary (Poway Unified​)
  • Monterey Ridge Elementary (Poway Unified​)
  • Morning Creek Elementary (Poway Unified​)
  • Park Village Elementary (Poway Unified​)
  • Westwood Elementary (Poway Unified​)
  • Willow Grove Elementary (Poway Unified​)
  • Barnett Elementary (Ramona City Unified)
  • Benchley-Weinberger Elementary (San Diego Unified)
  • Edward L. Hardy Elementary (San Diego Unified​)
  • Holmes Elementary (San Diego Unified​)
  • John G. Marvin Elementary (San Diego Unified​)
  • Kumeyaay Elementary (San Diego Unified​)
  • La Jolla Elementary (San Diego Unified​)
  • Robert E. Dingeman Elementary (San Diego Unified​)
  • Tierrasanta Elementary (San Diego Unified​)
  • Toler Elementary (San Diego Unified​)
  • Torrey Pines Elementary (San Diego Unified​)
  • Zeta O. Doyle Elementary (San Diego Unified​)
  • Joli Ann Leichtag Elementary (San Marcos Unified)
  • La Costa Meadows Elementary (San Marcos Unified​)
  • San Elijo Elementary (San Marcos Unified​)
  • Skyline Elementary (Solana Beach Elementary)
  • Lilac​ Elementary (Valley Center-Pauma Unified)​