Skip to main content

 10 Additional Local Campuses Named 2021 California Distinguished Schools

​State Superintendent of Public Instruction Tony Thurmond today named an additional 10 San Diego County schools as 2021 California Distinguished Schools. In an announcement on March 18, the California Department of Education (CDE) awarded the honor to 102 schools and today that list has been broadened to include 120 additional California senior high schools and one more middle school. 

The additional San Diego County Distinguished Schools are:

  • Canyon Crest Academy (San Dieguito Union)
  • Classical Academy High
  • Hilltop Senior High (Sweetwater Union) 
  • Kearny Digital Media & Design (San Diego Unified)
  • Mira Mesa High (San Diego Unified)
  • Mission Hills HIgh (San Marcos Unified)
  • Mission Vista High (Vista Unified)
  • Sage Creek High Carlsbad Unified)
  • Scripps Ranch High (San Diego Unified)
  • Torrey Pines High (San Diegtuito Union)

The CDE identifies and awards eligible schools based on performance and progress on state indicators specified on the California School Dashboard, the state’s accountability and continuous improvement system. Indicators include test scores, suspension rates, and conditions and climate. After a review of the data, CDE identified these additional schools for this year’s honor. 

“These additional high schools join the ranks of all 2021 California Distinguished Schools who are being recognized for this distinction because of their exceptional record to provide for all students and their commitment to data-driven efforts that prepare students for college and career,” Thurmond said. “Our thanks go to the entire communities surrounding these schools, including the teachers, administrators, and classified employees as well as the students and their families who, through teamwork, all accomplished this impressive achievement together.”

Sponsored by the CDE and presented by California Casualty, the Distinguished Schools Program recognizes schools for their excellent work in one of two categories: closing the achievement gap and achieving exceptional student performance. Elementary schools and middle and high schools are recognized in alternate years; therefore, awardees hold the title for two years. The list of additional schools is attached at the end of this press release.

Distinguished Schools represent examples of not just excellent teaching, learning, and collaboration, but also highly successful, data-driven school efforts ranging from professional development to positive behavior intervention. 

To view the full list of 2021 California Distinguished Schools and for more program information, please visit the CDE California Distinguished Schools web page.