Skip to main content

Inspiring and leading innovation in education


 Mission Federal Credit Union, Cox and Junior Achievement Announce Results for Countywide Teachers 'Thank You' Contest

​The results are in! Mission Federal Credit Union, Cox and Junior Achievement announce the results of the “I’m Thankful for My Teacher” campaign, which is designed to give parents and students an opportunity to thank the teachers in their lives for their hard work, dedication, enthusiasm, support and willingness to go the extra mile for students and families throughout San Diego County.

The campaign, now in its fifth year, continues to exceed expectations with students sending in an impressive 7,865 thank-you notes to 600 teachers at 300 different schools throughout San Diego – that’s 33,000 heartfelt thank you cards over the past five years!

“We are so encouraged with the increasing response and student participation,” said Tricia Link, Vice President of External Affairs for Mission Federal. “San Diego students countywide shared their heartfelt words and appreciation for teachers who are making a positive difference throughout the County. We know that this effort will increase the morale of teachers who have been repeatedly affected by local district budget cuts. Teachers are making a difference each day in the lives of San Diego’s students.”

The top eight winning elementary, middle, charter and high school teachers that received the most thank-you notes were given a $100 Visa gift card to reward themselves for all of their hard work. Additionally, the students in the classes of the winning teachers will receive a fun classroom party or field trip of their choice and the invaluable gift of Junior Achievement’s award-winning financial education curriculum taught in their classroom, compliments of Mission Federal Credit Union. Mission Fed has also rewarded the top 10 schools that turned in the most thank-you notes or with the highest participation percentages with $200 School Spirit Awards, and special Outstanding Teacher Dedication Award prizes ($100 gift cards) are planned for 10 additional deserving teachers, based on the compelling content of the thank you cards.

Below is a complete list of this year’s winning teachers and respective schools: 

Highest Teacher Recognition and Classes

Elementary School:
1. Zamaria Rocio - Adams Elementary, San Diego Unified School District (209)
2. Miguel Serrano & Claudia Alvarez - Oneonta Elementary, South Bay Union School District (58)

Middle School:
1. Jerome Bowman - Rancho del Rey Middle, Sweetwater Union High School District (180)
2. Timothy Dobbins - Montgomery Middle, Cajon Valley Union School District (89)

High School:
1. Katie James - El Camino High School, Oceanside Unified School District (201)
2. Rudolph Shaffer - San Diego High School of Science & Technology (28)

Charter/Home/Internet School:
1. Scot de Pedro - Discovery Charter, Chula Vista Elementary School District (26)
2. Maria Perreira - Discovery Charter, Chula Vista Elementary School District (25)

School Spirit Awards
1. Pacific Rim Elementary - Carlsbad Unified School District
2. Palomar Elementary - Chula Vista Elementary School District
3. Hazel Goes Cook Elementary - Chula Vista Elementary School District
4. Lincoln Middle – Oceanside Unified School District
5. El Toyon Elementary – National District
6. Flying Hills Elementary – Cajon Valley Union School District
7. Montgomery Middle - Cajon Valley Union School District
8. Adams Elementary - San Diego Unified School district
9. Rancho de la Nacion Elementary - National District
10. Rancho del Rey Middle - Sweetwater Union High School District

Outstanding Teacher Dedication Awards
1. Dawn Thomas, Ivey Ranch Elementary, Oceanside
2. Angelica Arguello, Valley Center Elementary, Valley Center
3. Zonia Ancona – Paul Ecke Central Elementary, Encinitas
4. Heather De Los Reyes – Salt Creek Elementary, Chula Vista
5. Blake Maxon – Poinsettia Elementary, Encinitas
6. Anne Marie Nelson – Christa McAuliffe Elementary, Oceanside
7. Julianne Benovitz – Knob Hill Elementary, San Marcos
8. Colby Nance – Lincoln Middle School, Oceanside
9. Jeff Wisener, El Camino High School, Oceanside
10. Christine Bisera-Morales – Valhalla High School, Grossmont

In its initial year (2008), the heartwarming campaign garnered two prestigious national and international awards from the Credit Union National Association for top community campaign and a MetLife Foundation Entrepreneurial Award, which donated $25,000 to Junior Achievement San Diego Imperial Counties, and encouraged implementation of the thank-you campaign as a best practice in conjunction with Junior Achievement chapters throughout the United States and globally.

About Mission Federal Credit Union
Mission Federal Credit Union is a progressive, member-owned, not-for-profit financial institution providing high quality financial and related services to meet the needs of a growing and diverse membership base. With more than $2.3 billion in assets, more than 20 local branches, and more than 160,000 members, Mission Federal is the second largest credit union in San Diego County. Mission Federal enhances the lives of its members through outstanding customer service and lifelong financial services. In addition, Mission Federal contributes to hundreds of local non-profit organizations, with a focus on financial literacy and educational programs. At Mission Fed, Your Success is our Bottom Line. To learn more, visit

About Junior Achievement
Junior Achievement of San Diego and Imperial Counties prepares students in both counties for future economic achievement and success throu​gh its local in-school and hands-on programs. Junior Achievement of San Diego and Imperial Counties reaches nearly 40,000 students in grades K-12 annually. For more information on programs in San Diego and Imperial Counties, visit ​