Skip to main content

Inspiring and leading innovation in education


 Celebrate SDCOE Teacher of the Year and All Teachers at ‘Salute’

The San Diego County Office of Education is proud to have one of our outstanding teachers in the running for San Diego County Teacher of the Year. 

Stephanie Cruz, the San Diego County Office Education Teacher of the Year, is one of 44 teachers from across the county who will be honored Sept. 16 at the 27th annual “Cox Presents: A Salute to Teachers” at the historic Balboa Theatre in downtown San Diego. Five will be named the 2017-18 San Diego County Teachers of the Year, and will go on to represent the region in the California Teacher of the Year program.

San Diego County is fortunate to have a glamorous awards show -- a live, televised event -- to recognize its more than 22,000 teachers. Friends, family members, colleagues, parents, and students are welcome to join the celebration to cheer on Cruz. The show is open to to all ages, and tickets are on sale now. Showtime is 8 p.m.

Tickets can be purchased online; by calling the Balboa Theatre at 570-1100 (all San Diego area codes); at the Advance Sales Windows at Third Avenue and B Street from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. Monday through Friday; and at the theater box office, 868 Fourth Ave., which is open only on performance days. Tickets are $15.50, and discounts are available for groups of 10 or more and for those who mention title sponsor San Diego County Credit Union. Enter SDCCU in the offer code box for online orders. The show also will be broadcast on YurView, Cox Channel 4 and 1004 in HD.

Student performances during the show will include show choirs from Lakeside Middle and Carlsbad High schools, and San Diego Christian Youth Theater’s cast of “The Lion King.”
The show hosts are award-winning CNN correspondent Kyra Phillips, a graduate of Helix High School, and veteran San Diego broadcast journalist Dennis Morgigno. 

"Steph is an outstanding educator who has overcome significant challenges this past year and taken equally significant risks with her teaching practice to cause an enormously positive impact on her students' learning and well-being," said Matt Simon, interim principal at 37ECB, where Cruz teaches.

The “Salute” honorees were nominated by their districts for their commitment to students, to teaching, and to lifelong learning. The program also recognizes the continuous, unconditional support that teachers receive from their village of colleagues, friends, and family -- making this event a great opportunity for all to celebrate the public education in San Diego County.