Skip to main content

 Local Superintendents Support Flexibility in Implementing Funding Formula

​​​Forty-one superintendents from across San Diego County recently wrote the State Board of Education in support of "fair, focused, flexible"​ regulations as the state moves to implement the Local Control Funding Formula. The text of the letter is as follows:

Dear President Kirst and Members of the State Board of Education:

We write on behalf of the superintendents in San Diego County to express our appreciation to you and the other members of the board as well as to the State Board staff for not only your work on the Governor’s Local Control Funding Formula (LCFF) but also for encouraging broad input from the field as you develop the regulations and prepare for implementation.  We would like to take this opportunity to share our thoughts and to reiterate some of the comments made by our colleagues in the field and by the statewide organizations.

We support the goals of LCFF to promote program flexibility, wide-ranging engagement, local accountability and equity and access for all students. We believe in providing LEAs additional assistance to serve English Language Learners, Low Income Students and Foster Youth and holding them accountable for the educational needs and academic achievement of those students. However, it is also imperative that the flexibility includes the use of resources and the ability to meet state and federal accountability requirements in ways that provide for local decision-making, a reduction in bureaucratic red tape, and allow for innovative programs that improve student achievement.

We share our colleagues’ recommendation for funding flexibility provisions similar to the Title I “school-wide” flexibility that currently exist.

We ask the State Board to trust in the Local Control and ​Accountability Plan (LCAP) that places the responsibility on local school districts and their communities to work together to balance resources while they address defined state priorities. Given the diversity of the state, it is important to first ask if an issue is better resolved locally and publicly. And, as one of the objectives of LCFF is to reduce state regulatory constraints, we ask that you rely on the law and resist additional state regulations unless implementation would be impeded otherwise.

Finally, we urge you to adopt the LCAP Template earlier than the March deadline. If the template is not released until March 2014 and must be adopted on or before July 1, 2014, then LEAs have a fairly short window to develop a plan to meet the eight required components.

Thank you again for the opportunity to provide input. We urge the Board to share the Governor’s trust in communities to develop programs to address local needs, resources and demographics and to make the best decisions for the education and achievement of their students.


San Diego County Superintendents

Dr. Randy Ward – San Diego County Office of Education 
Cindy Marten – San Diego Unified School District 
Ernie Anastos – Lemon Grove School District 
Dr. Timothy B. Baird – Encinitas Union School District 
Nadine Bennett – Jamul-Dulzura Union School District 
Steve Boyle – Escondido Union High School District 
Dr. Ed Brand – Sweetwater Union High School District 
Dr. Melissa Brown – Warner Unified School District 
Dr. John Collins – Poway Unified School District 
Dr. Justin Cunningham – Bonsall Union School District 
Martha Deichler – Borrego Springs Unified School District 
Dr. Francisco Escobedo – Chula Vista Elementary School District 
Dr. Jeffrey P. Felix – Coronado Unified School District 
Dr. Robert W. Graeff – Ramona Unified School District 
Dr. Kathy Granger – Mountain Empire Unified School District 
Shannon Hargrave – San Pasqual Union School District 
Dr. Kevin Holt – San Marcos Unified School District
David Jones – Vallecitos School District 
Dr. David Lorden – Lakeside Union School District 
Dr. Suzette Lovely – Carlsbad Unified School District 
Dr. Nancy Lynch – Solana Beach School District 
Gloria Madera – San Ysidro School District
Brian Marshall – La Mesa-Spring Valley School District 
Dr. Holly McClurg – Del Mar Union School District 
Dr. Katie McNamara – South Bay Union School District 
Dr. Dale Mitchell – Fallbrook Union High School District 
Dr. David Miyashiro – Cajon Valley Union School District 
Dr. Lou Obermeyer – Valley Center-Pauma Unified School District 
Kevin Ogden – Julian Union School District 
Dr. Chris Oram – National School District 
Tom Pellegrino – Alpine Union School District 
Larry Perondi – Oceanside Unified School District 
Dr. Cathy A. Pierce – Santee School District 
David Schlottman – Julian Union High School District 
Candace Singh – Fallbrook Union Elementary School District 
Ralf Swenson – Grossmont Union High School District 
Jill Vinson – Cardiff School District 
Dr. Devin Vodicka – Vista Unified School District 
Dr. Jennifer Walters – Escondido Union School District 
Julie Weaver – Spencer Valley School District
Janet Wilson – Dehesa School District