Skip to main content

 May 15, 2014 San Diego County Schools Closure Update

​​​​​​​​​Updated 6:45 p.m., May 15, 2014

The safety and security of students, faculty, and staff is of the upmost importance to schools across the county.

As the current wildfires change and grow, each school district will continue to monitor the local emergency situation and make school closure decisions on a day-by-day basis. County school districts are considering factors such as:

  • Location of the current fire(s) and proximity to campuses
  • Air quality
  • Weather conditions
  • Difficulty in staffing school sites, with many school employees impacted by evacuations and unable to report for duty
  • Public safety officials' recommendation to keep the roads clear for emergency responders and evacuees
  • Energy officials' recommendation to conserve energy

Each district in fire-impacted areas must inventory its sites for cleanliness and air quality, to ensure they are safe for children and staff to occupy. The San Diego County Office of Education (SDCOE) is providing guidance to support those efforts.

The following school districts will be closed on Friday, May 16, 2014:

  • Bonsall Union
  • Cardiff
  • Carlsbad Unified
  • Del Mar Union
  • Encinitas
  • Escondido Union Elementary
  • Escondido Union High
  • Fallbrook Union Elementary
  • Fallbrook Union High
  • Oceanside Unified
  • Poway Unified
  • Ramona Unified
  • Rancho Santa Fe
  • San Dieguito Union High
  • San Marcos Unified
  • San Pasqual Union
  • Solana Beach
  • Vallecitos
  • Valley Center-Pauma Unified
  • Vista Unified


The following school districts will be open on Friday, May 16, 2014 unless conditions change/deteriorate (or as noted): 

  • Alpine Union
  • Borrego Springs Unified
  • Cajon Valley​
  • Chula Vista Elementary
  • Coronado Unified​
  • Dehesa
  • Grossmont Union High​ (including Helix and Steele Canyon charter schools)
  • Jamul-Dulzura Union
  • Julian Union Elementary
  • Julian Union High
  • Lakeside Union
  • La Mesa-Spring Valley
  • Lemon Grove​​
  • Mountain Empire Unified
  • ​National
  • San Ysidro
  • Santee​
  • South Bay Union
  • Spencer Valley
  • Sweetwater Union High
  • Warner Unified​

San Diego Unified School District will be open Friday, May 16, with the exception of schools in the Mira Mesa and Scripps Ranch neighborhoods. The schools closed will be Scripps Ranch High School and Thurgood Marshall Middle School; Dingeman, EB Scripps, Jerabek and Miramar Ranch elementary schools in the Scripps Ranch neighborhood. In the Mira Mesa neighborhood, Mira Mesa High School and Twain Mesa High School, Challenger and Wangenheim middle schools will be closed, along with Ericson, Hage, Hickman, Mason, Sandburg and Walker elementary schools and Walker CDC. 

SDCOE's San Pasqual Academy, Vista Discovery, Breaking Cycles North, Teen Outreach-North School, Fallbrook Academy, Escondido Community School, and Mira Mesa Community School will be closed, as will SDCOE's North County Regional Education Center, North County Academy, all Special Education programs Operated by NCCSE, HOPE Infant programs in the Northern Region, and Migrant Education programs in the Northern Region.​​​

Note that the closure of any SDCOE Juvenile Court and Community Schools does not have any impact on the San Diego Juvenile Court operations; the Juvenile Court is open.

A large number of charter public schools have announced that they​ will be closed​​. ​The California Charter Schools Association has created a list of San Diego County charter school closures.​

The San Diego County Office of Education will update this list as more information is available.

Follow SDCOE on Twitter​ for tweets from various emergency agencies and school districts.