Skip to main content

Inspiring and leading innovation in education


 More Honors for Gold Ribbon Schools

State Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson today announced additional honors for 496 of the 779 elementary schools that were recognized last month as Gold Ribbon Schools.

Among those Gold Ribbon Schools, 38 have been selected as having an Exemplary Program in Arts Education or Physical Activity and Nutrition. Schools applied separately for those honors. Several Gold Ribbon Schools won multiple awards.

Additionally, Gold Ribbon Schools that are also Title I schools were recognized as Academic Achieving Schools. This distinction is given only to schools receiving federal Title I funds that aid in meeting the educational needs of students living at or below the poverty level.

"I'm delighted to honor these schools and programs, which are doing a tremendous job preparing our students for 21st century opportunities and graduating lifelong learners in the process," Torlakson said.

The Exemplary Program Awards were created in 2013 to celebrate schools carrying out the goals in Torlakson's A Blueprint for Great Schools report, which provided vision and direction for the California education system. The report was updated in 2015 with A Blueprint for Great Schools Version 2.0.

More information on Exemplary Program Awards is available at the California Gold Ribbon Schools Program page on the California Department of Education's Web site.

The 2016 Elementary Gold Ribbon Schools, along with the 2016 Exemplary Program recipients, Title I Academic Achieving Schools, 2016 Green Ribbon Schools, 2016 Civic Learning Award Schools, and the 2015 National Blue Ribbon Schools, will be honored in May and June during regional ceremonies. ​

The following San Diego County schools received the Academic Achieving School Award:

Cajon Valley Union School District: EJE Elementary Academy

Carlsbad Unified School District: Aviara Oaks and Pacific Rim elementary schools

Chula Vista Elementary School District: Calvin J. Lauderbach Elementary School and Feaster Charter School

Encinitas Union School District: La Costa Heights, Park Dale Lane, and Paul Ecke Central elementary schools

Fallbrook Union Elementary School District: Fallbrook Street, Mary Fay Pendleton, and San Onofre schools.

Poway Unified School District: Adobe Bluffs and and Willow Grove elementary schools

Ramona Unified School District: Hanson and Ramona elementary schools

San Diego Unified School District: Ellen Browning Scripps, Kumeyaay, and La Jolla elementary schools

San Marcos Unified School District: Alvin M. Dunn Elementary School


San Diego County schools receiving the Exemplary Arts Education Program Award are:

Carlsbad Unified School District: Hope Elementary School

Chula Vista Elementary School District: Wolf Canyon Elementary School

Encinitas Union School District: Park Dale Lane Elementary School

Vista Unified School District: Vista Academy of Visual and Performing Arts