Skip to main content

Inspiring and leading innovation in education


 Nominations Open for Honoring Our Own Awards

The San Diego County School Boards Association (SDCSBA) and the Association of California School Administrators Region 18 are calling for nominations for the annual Honoring Our Own Awards program, which recognizes supporters of education.

Nominations are due Feb. 15, and may be submitted online or by requesting and submitting a form to Brenda Gomez at

The program recognizes outstanding individual board members, administrators, staff, parents, and community partners -- the “village” of local education, said Katie Dexter, California School Boards Association (CSBA) Region 17 director.

“It is a wonderful opportunity to celebrate the successes that make working for quality education so rewarding,” said Beth Hergesheimer, president of the SDCSBA.

Award categories include School Board Member; First Term School Board Member; Community Partner; Parent Volunteer; Staff Member; and Confidential or Administrative Staff Member.

More than 500 people attended last year’s event. The 2016 Honoring Our Own recipients were: School Board Member of the Year, Kevin Howe, Lakeside Union School District; First Term School Board Member of the Year, Erin English, Bonsall Unified School District; Community Partner of the Year, Ellen Beck, executive director, and Irvin Silverstein, dental director, UCSD Student-Run Free Clinic, UCSD Health Sciences; Parent Volunteer of the Year, Lisa Stewart, Grossmont Union High School District; Staff Member of the Year, Lisa Bernheisel, child nutrition kitchen coordinator, Vista Unified School District; and Confidential/Administrative Staff Member of the Year, Yvette Olea, executive assistant to the superintendent, National School District.

The Honoring Our Own Awards Dinner will be held April 28 at the Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina.