Skip to main content

 Olympian Wins 3rd Straight Academic Decathlon As Sweetwater District Takes 8 of 10 Top Spots

​​​Olympian High in the Sweetwater Union High School District has won the 2012 San Diego County Academic Decathlon, the third consecutive Decathlon championship for the South County campus.

Olympian was crowned February 15 at the 30th annual Decathlon awards banquet at the Sheraton Hotel in Mission Valley. Finishing second, third and fourth were Olympian’s South County rivals, Hilltop, Sweetwater and San Ysidro High Schools, completing a sweep of the top four spots by schools from the Sweetwater Union High School District.

With Otay Ranch High (6th), Castle Park High (7th), Southwest High (8th) and Montgomery High (10th), the Sweetwater district took eight of the top 10 places in the Decathlon. Our Lady of Peace (5th) and Fallbrook High (9th) were the only non-Sweetwater schools to crack the top 10.

Parents, friends and teammates cheered enthusiastically as the nine-member Olympian team received their award. Under coach Ken Bolton, Olympian has won the Decathlon every year they’ve entered. Olympian will now represent San Diego County in the California Academic Decathlon Championship, March 15-18, 2012 in Sacramento.

More than 150 students from 17 local high schools took part in the February 4 competition, which was conducted at Olympian. This year’s topic was Age of Empire.

The awards ceremony was made possible due to the generous contributions of the following sponsors: Mission Federal Credit Union, Ashford University, Computers 2 San Diego Kids, Ecology Auto Parts, Otay Land Company, Corky McMillin Companies, David and Annie Malcolm, SDG&E and the Village Club.

2012 San Diego County Academic Decathlon Results

Olympian High, Sweetwater Union High District
Hilltop High, Sweetwater Union High District
Sweetwater High, Sweetwater Union High District
San Ysidro High, Sweetwater UHSD
Academy of Our Lady of Peace, parochial
Otay Ranch High, Sweetwater UHSD
Castle Park High, Sweetwater Union High District
Southwest High School, Sweetwater UHSD
Fallbrook High, Fallbrook Union HSD
Montgomery High, Sweetwater Union High District

Top-scoring students from each of the three Decathlon divisions---Varsity, Scholastic and Honors---received certificates from Computers 2 San Diego Kids for a laptop or desktop computer of their choice.

County Superintendent of Schools Randy Ward and County Board of Education members Jerry Rindone, John Witt, and Board President Mark Anderson attended the awards program and commended all the participating students, teachers and parents.