Skip to main content

Inspiring and leading innovation in education


 RedEye Competition Challenges Student Filmmakers

Ten student filmmaking teams from seven schools around the county will descend on the San Diego County Office of Education (SDCOE) campus Saturday morning to kick off a 36-hour video challenge.

The iVIE SDCCU RedEye Competition gives students in grades 6 through 12 the opportunity to create a 30-second video, with all of the writing, filming, editing, and musical scoring completed in one weekend.

"RedEye is a great opportunity for students to be creative and collaborate on a real-world project for a client under a typical time constraint," SDCOE Technology Coordinator Michanne Hoctor-Thompson said.

San Diego County Credit Union teams up with SDCOE for RedEye, which is part of the annual Innovative Video in Education Student Film Festival and Awards – better known as iVIE. The RedEye winner will be announced April 23 at the iVIE festival at Coronado High School. The winning team will see its video air on TV and receive a $500 scholarship.

"We are proud to support the San Diego County Office of Education with their efforts to encourage teamwork and creativity among students," SDCCU President and CEO Teresa Halleck said. "The iVIE SDCCU Redeye Competition challenges students in grades 6 through 12 to work together to learn and create cinematic projects, which will prepare them for college and beyond. We are excited to witness the great work produced at this year's iVIE SDCCU Redeye."

This year's participating schools include: Mission Middle School, two teams, Escondido Union School District; Canyon Crest Academy, San Dieguito Union High School District; High Tech High Media Arts in Point Loma; Coronado Middle School, Coronado Unified School District; Escondido High School, Escondido Union High School District; Granite Hills High School, two teams, Grossmont Union High School District; and Rancho Bernardo High School, two teams, Poway Unified School District.

The 2015 iVIE SDCCU RedEye winner was Rainy Day Fund from a Canyon Crest Academy team of John De Vito, Greg Wolff, Navin Bose, and Gabe Gaurano.