Skip to main content

Inspiring and leading innovation in education


 Viejas Arena Hales County Teachers of the Year

​The five San Diego County Teachers of the Year for 2012 were honored at center-court of raucous, sold-out Viejas Arena Saturday, during a break in the action in San Diego State’s 57-44 men’s basketball victory over the Air Force Academy.

“Representing nearly 26,000 public school teachers in San Diego County…men and women who’ve devoted their professional lives to helping our children learn, grow and develop…the Aztecs are proud to present our 2012 San Diego County Teachers of the Year,” Aztecs public address announcer Brian Main told the crowd of 12,414. “Please help the Aztec Nation honor these true community heroes, our 2012 San Diego County Teachers of the Year.”

The 2012 San Diego County Teachers of the Year are:

  • Jo-Ann Fox of Reidy Creek School in the Escondido Union School District​ 
  • Mark Alcorn of Lee Elementary in the San Diego Unified School District 
  • Yolanda Sherard of Rancho del Rey Middle in the Sweetwater Union High School District 
  • Mark Burroughs of San Pasqual School in the San Pasqual Union School District
  • Alicia McBride of the Juvenile Court & Community Schools’ Reflections Program

The five outstanding teachers were named last fall at the conclusion of Cox Presents A Salute to Teachers, the black tie, live TV production at Balboa Theatre. Throughout the year the Teachers of the Year take part in a variety of community events, but none as high-volume and wildly enthusiastic as the SDSU basketball game in “the Madhouse on the Mesa.”

As the left the court following their recognition, to the cheers and applause of fans and the game referees, the teachers were invited to join the renowned SDSU student cheering section for a photo. The student section, known as “The Show,” immediately began chanting, “Pay Them More!” ​