Skip to main content

 SDCOE Tech Officer Earns Top Statewide Cybersecurity Honor

San Diego County Office of Education (SDCOE) Chief Information Officer Terry Loftus was recently selected to receive the California State Information Security Leader of The Year Award.

"This award is an incredible honor," Loftus said. "I would like to thank the IT professionals working behind the scenes in K-12 education here in San Diego County as well as SDCOE leadership and the County Board of Education for enabling this important work, and specifically my Integrated Technology Services team."

Loftus was honored virtually at the State of California Virtual Cybersecurity Education Summit this week. The awards and event are presented by the California Department of Technology, the Governor's Office of Emergency Services, California Military Department, California Highway Patrol and Sacramento State University.

This year's California Cybersecurity Education Summit was opened by Gov. Gavin Newsom, who noted, "We have to work together and collaborate across sectors to safeguard the state's critical infrastructure."

Loftus applauded the teamwork among school organizations across the state.

"I can share that our work, both here in San Diego County, and with other county offices of education across the state, has become increasingly collaborative," he said. "It's encouraging to see caring, knowledgeable, and dedicated staff from a wide array of institutions addressing today's increasingly complex cybersecurity challenges."

The award is given to recognize an individual who demonstrates outstanding influence across organizational boundaries by developing future IT leaders and creating strategies to promote information sharing and collaboration within their own organization or among government organizations.

Loftus has more than 22 years of management experience in the public and private sectors and has served as technology director and chief technology officer in both large and small school districts. He currently serves on the board of directors for CENIC, the Resource Program Committee with California IT in Education, and serves as chair of the Technology Steering Committee Cybersecurity Subcommittee with the California County Superintendents Education Services Association.