Skip to main content

Inspiring and leading innovation in education


 San Diego County Teachers of the Year to be Named During “Cox Presents: A Salute to Teachers” on Sept. 15

Forty-one local teachers recognized by their districts as teachers of the year are now nominees for San Diego County Teacher of the Year. Five will be named the 2018-19 San Diego County Teachers of the Year at the 28th annual "Cox Presents: A Salute to Teachers," airing live at 8 p.m. on Saturday, Sept. 15 on YurView (Cox Channel 4 and 1004 in high definition).

The glamorous Academy Awards-style show, brought to you by San Diego County Credit Union, will be televised live from Balboa Theatre in downtown San Diego. "Cox Presents: A Salute to Teachers" recognizes the county's 22,000 public school teachers and features musical and dance performances leading up to the announcement of the five County Teachers of the Year, who will represent the region while vying for California Teacher of the Year honors.

"Cox Presents: A Salute to Teachers" is open to all ages. Tickets are $15.50, plus fees. Discounts are available for groups of 10 or more and for those who mention title sponsor San Diego County Credit Union. Enter SDCCU in the offer code box for online orders. Tickets can be purchased online; by calling the Balboa Theatre at 570-1100 (all San Diego area codes); at the Advance Sales Windows at Third Avenue and B Street from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. Monday through Friday; and at the theater box office, 868 Fourth Ave., which is open only on performance days.

For 28 years, Cox Communications has produced and televised "Cox Presents: A Salute to Teachers" to honor San Diego County's public school teachers for their commitment to teaching, learning, and their students. Dennis Morgigno and Sandra Maas will serve as the show co-hosts. Morgigno is an award-winning veteran San Diego broadcast journalist. Maas is a weekday co-anchor on KUSI News, which is returning this year as a show sponsor.

Student performances during the show will include Music Machine and Sound Unlimited, two premier show choirs from Bonita Vista High School; teen champion ballroom dancers Elijah Geolina from the San Diego School of Creative and Performing Arts and Victoria Podakova from Scripps Ranch High School; singing duo Liam Galleher and Yolanda Yarborough, recent graduates of Chula Vista High School; and the Ellington Jazz Ensemble from the San Diego School of Creative and Performing Arts.

The 41 nominees for Teacher of the Year were selected by their respective school districts.  Of those, five will be named County Teacher of the Year. The top five teachers are selected based on student achievement, professional development and community involvement, teaching philosophy and personal style, knowledge of educational issues and trends, promotion and development of the teaching profession, accountability, and ability to serve as ambassadors of education.

In addition to San Diego County Credit Union and KUSI, show sponsors include Procopio, Lakeshore Learning, Sanford Harmony, and Sycuan.