Skip to main content

 Shine a Light on an Equity Champion

This season of thankfulness and gratitude is the perfect time to spotlight a champion for educational equity in your school, district, or community. 

These people go above and beyond to be a beacon of hope and light for students and adults in a system that wasn’t built to meet the needs of each individual. 

That’s why the inaugural Lighthouse Awards were created – to showcase the amazing people doing the work to lead others in diversity, equity and inclusion. Nominations are now being accepted on the 2020 Equity Conference website.

The honorees will be recognized at the Equity Conference 2020 on Jan. 16 and 17 at the San Diego Convention Center. The conference brings together hundreds of educators, parents, and community leaders from across California to learn together on how to engage effective, systemic change and better respond to the linguistic, cultural, social-emotional, and mental health needs of all students. 

Take a minute to review the award categories and then nominate someone who deserves to be recognized. 

  • Turnaround School Leader award goes to a school administrator who fosters and leads equitable outcomes for all learners and has been a beacon of light for an entire community.
  • Turnaround Teacher award is for a classroom teacher who embraces diversity, equity, and inclusion and has helped achieve positive social and academic outcomes for all students.
  • Turnaround Support Staff award goes to a school counselor, nurse, school psychologist, paraprofessional, or others who actively supports all students, in pursuit of academic and/or social emotional excellence.
  • Equity Champion award is for a community leader who encompasses the light necessary for people to come together and create multiple opportunities for all students and families in pursuit of equitable outcomes and opportunities.
  • No Place for Hate Leader award goes to an active member of his/her/their school’s No Place for Hate® advisory committee and demonstrates leadership ability in his/her/their role on the committee and throughout the school community. This person embodies the values of No Place for Hate® laid out in the Resolution of Respect by ADL.