Skip to main content

Inspiring and leading innovation in education


 South Bay Honors 2018-19 District Champions

Earlier this month, South Bay Union School District Superintendent Dr. Katie McNamara hosted an event at the Imperial Beach Public Library to honor South Bay’s District Champions. These awards recognize students, parents/guardians, staff, teams, and community members that demonstrate outstanding work, dedication to the district's mission and goals, commitment to the community, and strong support for the South Bay Union School District. 

South Bay is proud to celebrate the contributions of the following Champions:

  • Amanda Pelloth — This teacher from the Bayside STEAM Academy was recognized for her outstanding instruction and dedication to students.

  • Rachel Swader, Celeste Bonilla, Nicolaus Ortega, Natalie Arroyo-Vega, and Elizabeth Leyva Martinez — These 6th grade students from the Bayside STEAM Academy were honored for their accomplishments at the Future City Regional Competition.

  • San Diego Police Officers Thomas Parilla, Saum Poorsaleh, and Steve Gudoy were recognized for their service to the Emory Academy of Global Leadership and Empowerment community.

  • Jordyn-Dionne Webster, Joaquin Almaguer, Diamonet Wimbley, Diana Roman, Azela Huerta Esparza, Leely Guzman, Lexi Carter, Erika Preciado, and Ashley Perez Gandara — These students were honored for creating,writing, and publishing the Emory Academy of Global Leadership and Empowerment's first newspaper, the Emory Eagle Times.

  • Lourdes Gonzalez, Maria Zavala, Martha Morales, and Guadalupe Carrillo — These parents from Emory were recognized for their volunteer work.

  • Stephen Aherne, Lydia Sweeney, and Tracey Rivera from the Irish Outreach Center of San Diego — This community organization was celebrated for their service to families and bringing Irish You a Merry Christmas to South Bay.

  • Karen Densmore — A supervisor in Child Nutrition, Karen was recognized for her dedication and commitment to South Bay students, families, and staff.

Dr. McNamara is excited about this program. “I am delighted to have the opportunity to honor those that demonstrate such a high level of support and dedication to our District. Congratulations to these recipients and we look forward to continuing to highlight and recognize those that champion our work, our community, and our District,” she said. 

South Bay will continue to collect nominations for the 2018-19 school year and will host additional recognition events on March 8 and May 31, 2019.