Skip to main content

Inspiring and leading innovation in education


 Teachers Make a Difference! Tune in to "8 at 8" this Tuesday

​​​County superintendent of Schools Dr. Randy Ward and San Diego County Teacher of the Year Kerry Araiza from Pomerado Elementary School in the Poway Unified School District will be the special co-hosts of KPRI-FM's "8 at 8" next Tuesday morning. Tune into 102.1 on November 5, at 8 a.m. and again at 8 p.m., to hear Ward, Araiza and morning host Madison chatting about how "Teachers Make a Difference" and playing eight special songs that go with the theme.

KPRI 102.1 FM, The San Diego County Office of Education and sponsors, The San Diego County Toyota Dealers, and The San Diego Zoo and San Diego Safari Park have joined forces to honor San Diego Teachers through the Teachers Make a Difference Award​. The award recognizes the most inspirational and incredible teachers (K-6), ultimately selecting nine  teachers out of hundreds of nominees. Each recipient is awarded in a surprise assembly at their school and receives a plaque as well as special gifts for their class.​​