Skip to main content

California Distinguished Schools Awards Program

​​​​​​​​​The California Distinguished Schools (DS) Program was on a three year pause while California transitioned to its new assessment and accountability system. From 2015–17 California recognized schools that demonstrated exemplary achievements with the California Gold Ribbon Schools Program. The California DS Program recognizes elementary and middle and high schools in alternate years and allows eligible schools to apply for the California DS Award once every two years. In 2020 California will recognize outstanding education programs and practices in elementary schools. Schools recognized as a California DS Awardee hold the DS Title for two years. For information on eligibility requirements, list of eligible schools and application information visit the California Distinguished Schools Program.

Additional Information

Nicole Shina
Special Programs Assistant