Skip to main content

Inspiring and leading innovation in education


Communication Severity Scales (CSS)

Communication Severity Scales

The Communication Severity Scales (CSS) were first developed for use in the North Inland Special Education Region (NISER) in 2006 to address local concerns. Ever-growing caseloads, lack of individualized determination of speech and language services in some cases, concerns with missing core academic instruction, and some students rarely being dismissed from therapy led to the development of the CSS Guidelines. Now in it's fourth revision, the 2016 CSS includes additional resources for identifying English Learners who may have a speech and/or language disability, expanded analysis of pragmatics, and the new Complex Communication Needs Matrix for students who use augmentative or alternative communication systems. In addition, once trained, you will be given access to the forms, worksheets, and extensive Resources.

At the conclusion of a half-day CSS training, participants will be skilled in applying the CSS to analyze students on their caseloads and make recommendations for speech and language services to IEP teams. The training is comprised of six components:

  1. Overview of the CSS process and legal requirements

  2. Referral strategies

  3. Review of the articulation, voice, fluency, language, and complex communication needs scales

  4. Service Guidelines based on the CSS ratings

  5. Large group postive practice utilizing case studies to apply the CSS Scales

  6. Small group independent practice

There is an additional small group advanced "Training of Trainers (TOT)" option, which authorizes CSS Certified SLPs to train others in their own districts.

Find further information regarding attending a training, hosting a training, or becoming a Certified Trainer here.