Skip To Main Content

Close Mobile Menu ( Don't delete it )

Mobile Utility

Header Top

Header Bottom

Mobile Trigger


County Teacher of the Year

Single Hero Image interior pages

2019-20 County Teachers of the Year nominees at A Salute to Teachers

Recognizing San Diego County teachers

Since 1974, the San Diego County Office of Education (SDCOE) has recognized teachers from across the region for their commitment to teaching and learning. Every year, teachers representing all 42 county districts are invited to apply for San Diego County Teacher of the Year.

For the past 32 years, SDCOE has partnered with Cox Communications to recognize all San Diego County Teacher of the Year nominees at the annual Cox Presents: Salute to Teachers, sponsored by San Diego County Credit Union. The event highlights San Diego County's more than 24,000 public school teachers. 

Five of the honorees will be named San Diego County Teachers of the Year at a reception on Aug. 26. These five individuals will go on to represent the region at the California Teacher of the Year program.

Cox Communications will produce a one-hour “Cox Presents: Salute to Teachers” television special to recognize local teachers, spotlight the teachers of the year, and share highlights from the reception. The show will air at 9 p.m. on Sunday, Oct. 2 on YurView Network (Cox Channel 4). 

Congratulations to the 2021 and 2022 COUNTY Teachers of the Year

2021 and 2022 teachers of the year gathered outside celebrating

Some of the 2021 and 2022 county teachers of the year are gathered outside celebrating. Read the announcement to see the full list of the 2022 county  teachers of the year.

Photo caption: Back row, from left are Jose Melo, Christine Hill, Jay Tweet,and Tiffany Jokerst. Middle row, from left are Heather McClain, her head popping out from behind Sanders who is taking the photo, Arah Allard, and Paula Richardson. Front row from left are Xye Sanders, taking the photo, Jackie Jourdane, and Laura Reyes.

More to Explore